NextBox 3.0 (Cisco 9865) Discussions - Read Post 1 - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 20Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 02:55 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 809
On a slightly different tangent , what is the fan noise like on the unit ? The gateway at Shaw supposedly has a loud fan which makes it difficult for those of us in small apartments that can't hide it away .

Last edited by sherds; 2013-08-01 at 02:56 PM. Reason: added question mark as appropriate
sherds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 03:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 13
@sherds - It is silent, don't think there is even a fan in it. Other than the large bright blue clock it is a decent looking little box.

@yyzlhr - There are 8 tuners. I set up 8 programs to record at the same time while watching one on a 4642.

The responsiveness of the guide is awesome. Even though it is similar to the old version, it isn't as bad because it works.

Taking back two 8642's to run one 9865 and two 4642's. Since there are 8 tuners I can record a live program on the 4642's to enable pause, fast forward and rewind functionality!!! Couldn't do that in the past as the 8642 couldn't handle it.

Still hope that Rogers unlocks the ability to utilize unmanaged devices at least within the home via wifi. I am sure as long as you have Rogers internet this will become an option in the near future. Then let's see if they push it to devices on the internet....

Limited use but loving it so far.
Ryked is offline  
post #78 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 04:02 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
Does the guide look the exact same? Like other than functionality improvements, are there any visual improvements or changes? Specifically channel logos instead of the call letters...
ryandude_12345 is offline  
 
post #79 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 04:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,441
@ Ryked - you have yours already??

Is it really 8 tuners? or is some of it IP based? (as that unit only has 6 tuners?)
Something I am going to ask.

@ecarlino016 - at least at launch, its only the 4642s are remote boxes.. but I am sure they will release more newer other boxes, as time goes on, more wireless ones (comparable to the fibe ones)

@ryandude - I don't know if I am supposed to say... its invite only, etc.. so don't want to get in trouble But as Rykked said later in the thread.. Its the same guide.. but UPDATED a bit (new features) and runs WELL on the box (no more lag)
gdkitty is offline  
post #80 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 04:11 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
@gdkitty, thanks, very understandable! Do you know what some new features of the guide are?
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #81 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 04:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 13
@gdity - Yes mine came in on the 25th. I have no idea if it is 8 tuners of if it is using the 8 channels of DOCSIS 3? All I can confirm is I recorded 8 shows at the same time while watching one of the recording on an 4642.
Ryked is offline  
post #82 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 04:25 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
@Ryked, what are the new features in the guide?
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #83 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 08:50 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
The 9865 will be running the same guide as the 8642 and 4642. All the new features are outlined in the screenshot at the beginning of this thread. 10 day guide is also coming, but won't be available right away.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #84 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 08:52 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
Any other features that are coming soon?
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #85 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 08:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
Not that I'm aware of, and considering it's running RTN still I'm not holding my breath.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #86 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 09:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 13
Not that it is a big deal but has channel 975 always been there to manage TV call display?

Anyone know how to get into the setting menu to see signal strength?
Ryked is offline  
post #87 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 10:33 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
@Ryked, yes it always has been. Does it still take up half of the damn screen when someone calls?
Also, kinda random, but it has always bugged me - when you press a channel number, are the numbers that appear on the television still in the big, white arial font with a black background? It looked so unprofessional, I hope they improved that.
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #88 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 10:46 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Guelph, Ont
Posts: 312
Im trying my best not to get discouraged but Rogers is taking mini-baby steps. They are so far behind others in many ui/function capacities....it will take 3 years to get them to a modern system. Of coarse we know what the landscape will look like in 3 years.

I guess I just need to accept that Canada is not the leader Rogers once was.

EC
ecarlino016 is offline  
post #89 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
I agree, like why wouldn't they release all the features that this new box can handle. I guess being able to record 8 programs is a big thing for some people, but not everyone needs that ability. Advertising the fact that you can record up to 8 shows, and watch live and recorded television on other devices is huge! Their business strategies are weird..
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #90 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2013-08-01, 11:42 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryked View Post
Anyone know how to get into the setting menu to see signal strength?
If it's like the 8642, see the SA/Cisco FAQ:

57 FAQ - Tips For SA (Cisco) STBs. (also Pace)

Edit - 9865 Diagnostics have been added to the above FAQ.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Tags
audio , digital box , rogers , sound , television

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome