NextBox 3.0 (Cisco 9865) Discussions - Read Post 1 - Page 158 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 20Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2356 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-12, 07:42 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Question Nextbox 3.0 and audio settings

hi all, I have the Nextbox 3.0 and a 5.1 audio receiver. I want to be able to watch TV in 5.1 audio. In audio settings I have the option to set it to "Dolby" or "other". if I set it to "Dolby", I don't hear 3.1 audio and no audio from my rear speakers. If I set it to "other", I hear audio in my rear speakers, but it sounds the same as my fronts. Does Rogers and the Nextbox support 5.1 audio and if so, how do I get proper 5.1 audio?

------------------
www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2357 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-12, 09:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,818
You should get Dolby 5.1 on most channels if the Nextbox 3.0 is set to Dolby. The standard for HDTV is Dolby and most HD channels will be 5.1. If the original programming was created in stereo, there will not be any surround content. The SD channels might have something else such as Dolby 2.0 or PCM. How are the Nextbox and AVR connected? If the audio goes through the TV, it could be that the TV is causing the issue.

Also see FAQ - What's Available in DD5.1
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2358 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-12, 10:14 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
the nextbox is connected to the AVR using HDMI cable. when using "Dolby", I went through several channels and they all seem to be 3 or 2 channel. maybe I should keep looking. is there a network that's always in 5.1? and what exactly does the "other" setting do?

------------------
www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
 
post #2359 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-12, 11:28 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,104
The SD channels are DD2.0. Most HD channels are DD5.1, with a few exceptions like some programming on CBC and PBS.. See the following FAQ on the topic:

FAQ - What's Available in DD5.1

I assume you're connected directly from the 9865 to the AVR and not "through" the TV. For DD2.0 programming, you should use Dolby Pro Logic II to decode that signal for proper surround sound. When you've used that setting for incoming DD2.0 signals, the AVR should automatically send DD5.1 when there are incoming DD5.1 signals (from the HD channels).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2360 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-13, 08:38 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
I rarely watch SD channels. so on the Nextbox 3.0 side, I should keep it on "Dolby" right? and on the AVR I should keep it on Dolby Pro Logic II?
velocci is offline  
post #2361 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-13, 09:33 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,104
Correct. Usually DPLII Cinema/Movie or similar. DPLII Music will cause a bit of echo and spill some of the centre channel to the LF & RF which can be good for music, but not for regular programming containing dialogue.

The amount of surround sound you hear from the surround speakers depends on the programming. Something like news will only have the centre channel active, while an action movie should involve all the speakers. Make sure you have the surround speakers connected to the surround outputs of the AVR. If you have a 7.1 AVR do not connect surround speakers to the "rear" outputs. The "rear" outputs are for the rear speakers of a 7.1 speaker setup.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2362 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-13, 04:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,818
Quote:
the AVR I should keep it on Dolby Pro Logic II?
The AVR should automatically switch between the modes set for the input signal. For a DD 2.0 or PCM input, Pro Logic II makes sense for stereo encoded TV or movie content. That could be enhanced with built in environmental surround effects but it's not needed (and sometimes counterproductive.) For a DD 5.1 input, DD5.1 or a DD5.1 enhanced mode should be automatically used.

A DD7.1 AVR will usually have an enhanced mode to drive all speakers in 7.1 mode. This will process the surround channels in an attempt to recreate rear and side channels. This is done in a way similar to how DD PLII recreates center and L/R front channels from stereo or PLII stereo encoded surround content. On mine it's called DD5.1 EX. Some of the environmental effects will go further by adding additional echos or delays.

Be sure to differentiate between content encoding, the input signal and AVR output. All three of these could be anything from monaural to stereo to one of several Dolby or THX encodings. They could all be different or they could all be the same. The DD decoder will do most of the magic automatically but it's important to know the difference when setting up.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2363 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-08-13, 07:39 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
i have the back speakers connected to the surround speaker inputs because they were labelled 5.1. although they are in the surround inputs, the speakers are actually behind the viewer. in every 5.1 diagram I've, they were always shown in the back. but I think in 5.1 they are supposed to be on the sides towards the back? oh well, i'm not an audio engineer.
velocci is offline  
post #2364 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-09-18, 09:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Rogers 9865 memory (ram) upgrades

Hi;

Has anyone done this? - yes, ram -> I have the pvr @ 4TB and want to upgrade the internal ram.

If anyone knows - I need the chip type / size in pins. I have a technical manual from Cisco that mentions these upgrades are possible - but gives no details.

Thanks

Drew
drewsk is offline  
post #2365 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-09-26, 07:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,350
Nextbox 3 died

Yesterday my Nextbox 3 died, with an error "ed91". I exchanged it today, for a new 4K Nextbox. I got the NB3 back when it was free rental and mine after 3 years. However, when I exchanged it, nothing was mentioned about that. They just swapped it. One thing I've noticed is that the picture appears a bit sharper, even though my TV is 1080p. I had NB3 configured for 1080p, as the new one is.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #2366 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-09-26, 10:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,818
The Nextbox 3 did a relatively poor job of upscaling to 1080p. I got a better picture by leaving it on 1080i and letting the TV do the scaling. I suspect that the upscaler in the 4k box is much better than the one in the NB3.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2367 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-09-27, 05:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,350
I've noticed the 4K has the same zoom problem that the NB3 had until recently. How can something so simple as a 4:3 ratio, be so hard to accomplish???

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #2368 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-10-01, 11:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London, ON
Posts: 10
Is there a way to access and edit (cancel) any & all program "Reminders" on the Rogers Nextbox 3.0? I've set a reminder and now wish to cancel it.
I'm guessing i need to wait for the specific program (the set day of the week and time) to show up in the guide again to allow me to access the reminder's cancel function.
RichardB is offline  
post #2369 of 2369 (permalink) Old 2017-10-01, 12:29 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,818
Had another runaway recording. It filled the disk to 90% in less than 2 days (from about 57%) before it was noticed. I also lost a few recordings and had to delete some to prevent further loss. A lot of deleted recordings were on the wrong PVR because there is no indication of which PVR they are on, despite them having unique names It took about 1/2 hour to find the 40 hour recording. That took a lot longer than needed because NavicrapR removed a lot of important information from the recordings list, including the recording length. Then the 40 hour had to be watched and deleted. What a waste of time and resources.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Tags
audio , digital box , rogers , sound , television

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome