Whole Home PVR (WHPVR) in Ontario Discussions (NextBox 2.0/3.0) - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 12:26 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 316
Mods, to reiterate another post earlier in this thead, it may be best to separate the posts about the new IPG and move them into a new thread, and keep this thread strictly about the Whole Home PVR feature.
rvs007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 03:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 113
Can anyone confirm will this system work on the 8300???

Little pissed off, that they have yet to fix my original problems with the 8300 and there "External PVR Expander" 1TB Seagate Drive....(where I lose recordings weekly) while its plugged in. This has been occurring for over a year, to the point where I don't use the (external drive) $200+ item I bought from Rogers.
P.S. this system worked flawlessly before the Firmware update 2 years ago.

Back to the matter at hand, can I get this system to work on my 8300 when its available here in London Ontario region? or will I need a 8642 model. AND if I get an 8642 model added to my house, can I still use the 8300 with it.

Thanks

P.S. typical rogers to not fix something and go to something new, so people have to spend more!!!
wozman is offline  
post #78 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 04:01 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 316
The Whole Home PVR and the new IPG will not work on the 8300HD. I'd imagine you can keep using it, but it will continue to have the old IPG and the recorded shows cannot be viewed at the other setbox locations.
rvs007 is offline  
 
post #79 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 09:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada, CISCO 9865 x 3, Cisco 4642 x 2, SA 3200 x 1, Veteran, Canadian Forces & RCMP
Posts: 235
Feature Activation

When the tech comes to your home to install the filter. Does he have to activate the Whole Home PVR feature on each device? If not when they rollout this out wouldn’t your recordings start going out over the network, if the filter was not installed. Especially if you don’t subscribe to the Home Feature.
sammey is offline  
post #80 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 09:24 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto - Davisville Subway
Posts: 1,017
My guess is that once they install the filter in your home, they call or activate from the laptop the feature to enable it on your boxes.
wysiwyg is online now  
post #81 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 316
wysiwyg is correct. Once the filter is installed, the tech closes the work order, which triggers the Whole Home PVR code on your account that will enable the feature, as explained to me when the tech did my install.
rvs007 is offline  
post #82 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-31, 02:01 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,204
Quote:
57, if you are still in control as a moderator, can you please split out the discussions on the new IPG into its own thread (ie, separate it from the whole home pvr thread) ?
Done, please use the following thread for firmware IPG discussions and use this thread for whole home discussions.

New Firmware / (HD) IPG for 8642, 4642 Discussions - Read Post 1 and Links There

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #83 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 08:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kanata, ON, Rogers Digital
Posts: 1,652
It may have been asked here but I don't recall seeing an answer, but since the 8300s will not support Whole Home PVR, is Rogers going to upgrade existing customers who rent (or, like me, are on a rent-free-for-life deal)? Do they still replace rental units with recycled 8300s or have they run out now?
wprager is offline  
post #84 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby
Posts: 485
Since you rent you can easily go in to a store and ask for a 8642 in exchange.
kibosh is online now  
post #85 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 09:49 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 544
The one thing I don't understand is if there are still tones and tones of 8300's out there why didn't they updated as well, I say this because Cisco updated the Scientific Atlanta's 8300 which is now owned by Cisco, IF they wherent providing service for any of Scientific Atlantas products then why did they support the 8300 at all? It makes no sense to only update one box, all of the boxes should at least get some type of guide enhancment, but again most likely just blowing steam....
m3repair is offline  
post #86 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 09:49 AM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto - Davisville Subway
Posts: 1,017
Yes, the whole purpose of their old "winback promo" with free rental for life (or year 2048 in my case) is that you get free exchanges and upgrades as necessary. I upgraded my 8300HD to a 8642 when it came out without any troubles.
wysiwyg is online now  
post #87 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 12:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
The SA 8300 does not support MoCA which is the technology that Rogers has chosen to use to network the terminals in your home and deploy the whole home pvr service. That's why it won't be receiving any of the upgrades.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #88 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-02, 01:02 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,204
This thread is about the whole home PVR, not about 160 GB HDDs in 8300s, etc. There is a separate thread for the IPG discussions.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #89 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-02, 07:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto - Davisville Subway
Posts: 1,017
So according to the IPG update thread, that rollout is temporary on hold while they fix the issues. Does this mean that the Whole Home PVR rollout (slated for next week) has been put on hold as well? It needs the new firmware to run. Does anyone know?
wysiwyg is online now  
post #90 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-02-02, 07:55 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 316
Yes, Whole Home PVR needs the new IPG to run. I guess if you really want WHPVR they can push the new IPG to your boxes on an individual basis.
rvs007 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome