Whole Home PVR (WHPVR) in Ontario Discussions (NextBox 2.0/3.0) - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-21, 04:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,789
Question

True

But?

When your renting your boxes it does make a difference.

HD PVR $25/month
SD Box $5/monthx3=$15/month

I believe the HD Boxes to rent are something like $10? $15? per month to rent?
MCIBUS is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-21, 04:40 PM
CW
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammey View Post
If I wish too still use my 3200 will the filter affect them or should they be connected ahead of the filter.
The filter is to prevent you from broadcasting your recordings to your neighbours and otherwise interfering with their service. It shouldn't affect your 3200 but the cost of installation should address any issues.
CW is offline  
post #63 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-21, 05:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCIBUS View Post
True

But?

When your renting your boxes it does make a difference.

HD PVR $25/month
SD Box $5/monthx3=$15/month

I believe the HD Boxes to rent are something like $10? $15? per month to rent?
The SD terminals do not support any networking features and manufacturers such as Cisco and Motorola aren't putting much R&D into SD terminals these days to bring updated features such as home networking as its becoming increasingly difficult to buy an SD television these days.
yyzlhr is offline  
 
post #64 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-21, 07:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Remote tv manager support for 8642 pvr?

Any idea if this new update for the guide and whole home pvr will finally offer support for the remote tv manager for the 8642 pvr?

I just swapped back to the 8642 so I am ready for the update. I previously had the 8642 but then swapped to the 8300 to get the remote tv support.

Thanks in advance,
AK
timberland29 is offline  
post #65 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-22, 07:43 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NB
Posts: 138
yyzlhr: Even if they did come up with a solution for home networking with the old boxes (the E940 lists "multi-room DVR capabilities" in the product brief), without an MPEG2 HD decoder it wouldn't be able to play most of your recordings!
gzero is offline  
post #66 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-22, 09:04 AM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto - Davisville Subway
Posts: 1,017
For those who tested it so far, does it make use of the Ethernet port on the back of the unit? Since it uses MOCA technology, you should be able to say, plug in the 8642 to your router and the coax network would bridge your network so you could connect your PS3 to the back of your 4642. If you have additional MOCA adapters, they are all suppose to be able to connect to it as well (as explained by the folks at CES who demonstrated MOCA technology) http://www.actiontec.com/products/product.php?pid=192
wysiwyg is offline  
post #67 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-22, 11:11 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,789
Question

one question?

So whats the difference between this one (Ontario Whole Home PVR) and the one in Maritimes, other then the one in Ontario is cisco based and the one in the Maritimes is Motorola based?

Is one(Ontario vs Maritimes) features better then the other?

If so what are the diffrences?
MCIBUS is online now  
post #68 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-22, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
the filter goes @ the point of entry for the boxes you need min 1 hdpvr 8646 and up to 3 cisco 4642's per network if you have more than 4 cisco boxes will require a 2nd network to be set up each box on the network works ONLY in that network sa boxes will not work on these networks and will require a filter on them aswell so they can function properly!
mr shady is offline  
post #69 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-22, 10:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,724
Rogers is going to hear it from me if they want me to pay $50 for the Whole House PVR function. When I first got my 8642 and 4642 from Rogers, they told me that by getting those two units I was going to have that feature coming soon. I specifically was told at the time it would not be something I had to pay extra for. So this will get interesting.

CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is offline  
post #70 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-23, 06:15 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 69
I don't like the $50 whole home PVR fee. They're releasing the new guide sluggish and we have to pay a fee if just want to use our own PVR's we already have?

Rogers - Cisco 9865 (NB 3.0)~ Panasonic DMR-Eh50 (TVGOS) ~ Sharp LC40LE830U AQUOS
adjjb is offline  
post #71 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-23, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 316
The $50 is to cover the cost of having to send a technician out to your home to install the filter that is required for the Whole Home PVR function to work.

If you don't like the fee, you can continue using the PVR functions on the TV set that the 8642HD is hooked up to. Rogers is in no way forcing you to pay the $50 for the extra feature.

I also suspect that the fee can be "waived" just like other installation fees if you deal with customer retention. It's purely speculation so don't quote me on that.
rvs007 is offline  
post #72 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 12:03 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
When I call Rogers I'm hoping to convince them that I don't need a visit or $50 installation fee.

We'll see how that goes.

Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
post #73 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 12:06 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
^^

You need a Techniqion to help you... You will not be able to install filters by yourself..it might end up costing you more when you need to get something fixed that you broke
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #74 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 12:16 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
What filters do they need to install?

I'm assuming that the WHPVR function just uses a specific chunk of free spectrum that the remote units get their content on. The only reason I can see for needing a filter is that the chunk of spectrum they use will go back out onto the line through the bidirectional splitter that they have already installed.

I was under the impression that those already filtered/block some of the higher bands already. If that is not true then I can see why a filter is needed. Otherwise it is just a cash grab by Rogers, which of course is not surprising.

Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
post #75 of 908 (permalink) Old 2012-01-24, 12:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvincent View Post
What filters do they need to install?
A MoCA filter is required so that your neighbor (for example) cannot access your PVR and vice-versa.

Last edited by 57; 2012-01-26 at 01:58 PM. Reason: Quote Shortened
kibosh is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome