Internal HDD Replacement - Rogers 8642 PVR - Read Post 1 - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-07-20, 11:56 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga, W. Churchill-Derry
Posts: 135
imis, looks like I got the same issue here. My PVR won't start recording scheduled shows, or record-nows. Cold boot will fix it for a minute so I can start a manual recording, but it won't play back, going to the Playback channel, as yours did. I guess I'll have to take my hard drive back too. I'm gonna give another hard drive a try meanwhile.
name777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-07-26, 04:03 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga, W. Churchill-Derry
Posts: 135
That's why I prefer not to buy WD drives for my computers. Of course this one was all bad, just like imis said. I installed a Samsung HDD 750Gb after that and it works like a charm. Very quiet, lot less heat than WD. In fact, when I took WD out of the PVR it was so hot I couldn't even touch it. I can post the Samsung drive's model if anyone needs it.
name777 is offline  
post #63 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-08-21, 05:52 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
To save anyone the hassle since I just bought one as an additional backup drive.......
I tried the WD20EARS 2TB WD Caviar Green drive and it does not work internally in the 8642. After installation, Page 28 of the info screens shows the correct drive model, but lists it as 1TB (perhaps reinforcing that 1TB might indeed be the upper limit). Page 14 (SARA information) showed various HDD format errors.

I've just ordered the WD10EALS 1TB Caviar Blue drive for my 8642 - many thanks to contributors.
AdrianT is offline  
 
post #64 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-08-22, 03:11 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB SATA300 HD103SJ

I just installed one of the above HD's in the 8642....so far, so good....will be putting it through its paces and recording as mush as possible over the next week or so. I got it at Futureshop for $79.00.

Seems to have gotten good reviews online....not overly quite, but have it in a cabinet and therefore don't hear it.

Gord
gripley is offline  
post #65 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-08-24, 11:31 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
WD10EALS 1TB Blue - problems

Tonight I installed the WD10EALS WD 1TB Blue drive and had no success in getting it recognised in the 8642.
It came up with the er53 error, then proceeded with the rnnn countdown sequence, the display went black and after a couple minutes the clock showed. Then I powered up, but was not able to record programs and page 28 showed no drive present.
I also tried various jumper options (OPT1 1.5Gbps and SSC enabled) and still no success.
Cable feed was plugged in at all times.
Reverting back to the original 160GB drive works.

Since shimh had success with this drive I was wondering if there are other factors in play?
Suggestions?
AdrianT is offline  
post #66 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-08-27, 10:54 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
WD10EALS 1TB Blue - faulty unit

OK, mounted my brand new WD10EALS in an eSata external case and looks like I have a faulty unit as it's not initialising under Windows. My other 2TB initialised fine in the same case.

The Blue is definitely louder than my 2TB Green so based on this experience and other users' success with the Black I'm considering returning it and trading up to the WD Black.
AdrianT is offline  
post #67 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-08-28, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
I currently rent the 8642 and want to upgrade the hard drive. Is this a good idea since I rent it? Can rogers detect a bigger drive?
Deranged is offline  
post #68 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-08-28, 08:30 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,103
Suggest you consider an eHDD instead.

Rogers 8642 & 9865 HD PVR External SATA Drive discussion - See Post 1 First

Yes, they could detect a "tampered with" STB.

Another suggestion - purchase a unit since it's a lot less expensive than renting.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #69 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-08, 10:04 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
WD10EALS 1TB Blue is working

So I'm now running with a new WD10EALS 1TB Blue drive and so far so good. Initially I had glitches (greenish flash at least 1/min - even with unit off but with drive running) so I enabled OPT1 (jumpers 5+6) to switch to 1.5Gb/s. No more glitches.

Drive is pretty quiet. Currently running multiple recordings.

I'll report any problems if i come across any but otherwise it seems that we're good to go with the WD10EALS Blue.
AdrianT is offline  
post #70 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-22, 07:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
External?

Hi so I have a chance to snag a 1TB WD external HD. I'm wondering if I can use this with the 8642? I'm not sure if the box will format the drive or not? Can anyone advise?
bigsley23 is offline  
post #71 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-22, 08:25 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsley23 View Post
Hi so I have a chance to snag a 1TB WD external HD. I'm wondering if I can use this with the 8642? I'm not sure if the box will format the drive or not? Can anyone advise?
It might. Do some reading of the this thread and the 8300HD External thread to see what drives and enclosure have been known to work and those that have failed.
Bplayer is offline  
post #72 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-22, 09:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Should I register the box with rogers first and then swap the drives or swap the drives and then register the box with rogers??
jjm3000 is offline  
post #73 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 04:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 984
Makes no difference, but I would register it first and make sure that the PVR is working normally before messing with the internals. Then if there are any problems after the upgrade you know that the problem is with the upgrade.

You known that the warranty will be voided if they were to check and determine that you had tamered with the internals. I have never heard of warranty being refused, but be warned.
Bplayer is offline  
post #74 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-23, 09:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Ok thanks for the heads up
jjm3000 is offline  
post #75 of 195 (permalink) Old 2010-09-28, 10:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1
In the images posted, the firmware mentions a second device. Is there actually a second connector? Or is this where the info for the external drive appears?
pandersen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome