Videotron New Channels Discussion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 162 (permalink) Old 2012-12-31, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,054
Videotron New Channels Discussion

Please use this thread to discuss new channels on Videotron. Here's the link to an older thread:

Videotron 2012 New Channels Discussion

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-03, 09:20 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Anybody know when Videotron's free promo of FX Canada is going to end? It seems to have been free on the grid for a few months now and there's no indication that I can find on their website of when this will end and force viewers to subscribe or not.
Haggisboy is offline  
post #3 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-03, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
Free preview is over. It is part if the TMN package. Or you can add it a-last-carte.
rainey is offline  
 
post #4 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 07:20 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Thanks. That explains why I'm still getting it as I have the TMN package.
Haggisboy is offline  
post #5 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 104
It is also part of the Superstation Package ,KTLA WSBK ETC..which is cheaper than the TMN package.
proggy is offline  
post #6 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 01:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
AMC news??

Has anyone received an update on whether videotron will be adding AMC.

They responded to my last tweet that they are waiting for confirmation of a launch date and no longer talking about "being in negotiations".

A good thing...I hope.
rainey is offline  
post #7 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 01:25 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 186
Rainey, Sorry to burst your bubble but this is the same answer since over a year ago. How long does it take for Vidéotron to negotiate for AMC?? All other providers offer it! Personally, I have no confidence in anything that Vidéotron says or promises e.g. Illico 2 was supposed to have multiroom capability in the Fall of 2012 according to what their VP said in May 2012. Now we get the standard response " We are working on it and will let you know when we have information" statement from their Facebook reps.

Luckily Bell just wired my street for Fibe a few weeks ago and as soon as they offer me the Fibe service, I am leaving Vidéotron (and this coming from an ex Expressvu customer who knows about their billing/cust service issues...). I cannot believe how far back Videotron is from Bell Fibe regarding the technology/features/ease of use of their equipment.

Samsung HL-S7178, Panasonic TCP50ST50, OPPO DV-981HD, PS3 40gb, Onkyo TX-SR674, Videotron 8642HD PVR, Harmony One
Gillest is offline  
post #8 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 02:39 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainey View Post
Free preview is over. It is part if the TMN package. Or you can add it a-last-carte.
Rainey, are you saying that I can swap FX with any of my current a-la-carte channels and not get charged extra?

Too bad Videotron charges extra for Oasis.
expressmoria is offline  
post #9 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
expressmoria. I was wrong. It seems either you get it with TMN, Superstations or you have to pay extra ($3). Sorry about the mis-communication.
rainey is offline  
post #10 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 03:33 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillest View Post
Rainey, Sorry to burst your bubble but this is the same answer since over a year ago. How long does it take for Vidéotron to negotiate for AMC?? All other providers offer it! .
I have also been getting the same run-around response "AMC under negotiations" for more than a year. I have sent multiple emails, facebook and twitter messages and still nothing. Boy those AMC executives must be tougher than any public union to make deal with (not).

If AMC ever arrives (11 months still left in 2013) I wonder how Videotron will package it? Will they add it to their TMN package or maybe offer it a-la-carte like Oasis?
expressmoria is offline  
post #11 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-09, 12:45 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Does anybody know if Videotron intends to drop City TV Toronto from their grid now that Metro 14 is now City TV Montreal? Both City channels have a spot on Videotron's HD grid, yet apart from a few minor exceptions, their programming is identical. Plus because Metro 14 was on basic cable (meaning you didn't have to choose to subscribe to it) City TV Montreal now has the same status. It would seem to me that the City T.O. spot on the grid would be an ideal replacement for...... oh..... AMC? Just sayin'.
Haggisboy is offline  
post #12 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-21, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
AMC

Just saw on twitter that Videotron is adding AMC in a "few days".
rainey is offline  
post #13 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-02-21, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 72
deck is offline  
post #14 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-03-01, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
AMC now available

Channels 209 SD and 809 HD

Free preview until 31 March

Enjoy!
expressmoria is offline  
post #15 of 162 (permalink) Old 2013-03-01, 08:27 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 280
Will it be part of an existing package or will we have to pay extra?
01 Boxer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome