Videotron New Channels Discussion - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-04-14, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,873
Please, let's stick to the topic of new channels on Videotron.

If you wish to discuss Videotron prices, please use the following:

Videotron Packages / Pricing

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-06-28, 09:17 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
Not a single new anglo HD channel from Videotron since AMC was launched back in the beginning of March.

Actually I am not looking for brand new HD channels just for Videotron to start offering the equivalent HD feeds of the SD channels already on illico. What happened to their infinite power slogan, just marketing hype?

I have sent them repeated emails, tweets and facebook requests and all I get is an auto reply that they are looking into it and more HD channels are on their way.

Not sure if the introduction of “multiroom” is siphoning off all available funds trying to at least save face for this overpromised and under delivered functionality.
expressmoria is offline  
post #33 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-06-28, 12:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montréal, QC
Posts: 17
I agree with you expressmoria.

I've been tweeting, faccebooking and sending them emails for the folowing channels in HD since the begenning of April.

G4Tech TV HD
History HD
H2 HD
MovieTime HD
MFun HD
MExcess HD
MFest HD
MEncore 2 HD

In the meantime, I noticed that they removed OASIS HD from their a la carte offering.

Considering that TMN package on videotron is more expensive than on Bell, I would have expected to have at least all channels in HD, since Bell has got them all at a better price.

And most of the content on Video On Demand is in SD, even if if airs on HD through TMN 1 HD.

This sucks.

I've also seen many time people asking for Sportnet World HD. Let's hope that the Bell-Astra transaction makes Videotron get their act together, otherwise as soon as Fibe TV becomes available in my neiberhood, I'm switching to them. (And I hate Bell as a company, worst customer service on Earth)

Anyway, let's not hijack the topic, let's go here to talk Videotron pricing and offering: Videotron Packages / Pricing
GuizmoPhil is offline  
 
post #34 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-07-08, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
I also agree with you GuizmoPhil.

I do not subscribe to Videotron’s movie channel offering due to limited HD content and cost. Once they start offering all movie channels in HD I may reconsider.

Will continue tweeting, emailing and facebooking and hope something will happen before the year is over.
expressmoria is offline  
post #35 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-07-17, 12:19 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gatineau, Qc
Posts: 30
Tabloid News Network (formerly CNN)

While historic events are happening daily in Egypt and Syria, the geniuses at CNN think that a trial in Florida has more impact on the world.
With the recent around the clock (24/7) coverage of the Zimmerman trial, it appears that the transformation of CNN into another crappy reality channel is complete.

Suggestion #1 - What are the chances that Videotron will provide us with the feed of BBC World in HD and relegate this junk channel to SD where it belongs?

Suggestion #2 - Although I've never watched it, according to many, CNN International is much better than the US version... why not replace the current CNN feed with CNN International instead.

If I want to watch a court room drama, I'll watch CSI. Anything has to be better than this now ridiculous network.
perrrob is offline  
post #36 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-07-18, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
I read in another forum that Videotron will be launching the following HD channels:
TLC HD
History HD
Sportsnet360 HD
Canal Savoir HD
No dates mentioned at this time as to when these channels will start broadcasting.

Wikipedia link

Last edited by expressmoria; 2013-07-18 at 03:34 PM. Reason: Additional info
expressmoria is offline  
post #37 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-07-27, 01:56 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 311
tlc hd, history hd, canal savoir it will be on august 7th, and sportnets 360hd, no idea.
julie_rose_ is offline  
post #38 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-08-05, 07:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 578
Is this confirmed by Videotron? Media release?
nicohockey9 is offline  
post #39 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-08-06, 06:04 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 311
go to illicotech.com all the info are there. and also wikipedia for Liste des canaux Vidéotron.
julie_rose_ is offline  
post #40 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-08-07, 06:24 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
The new HD channels are now available.

Canal Savoir HD (622)
TLC HD (665)
History HD (674)

Enjoy!
expressmoria is offline  
post #41 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-09-15, 04:15 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 311
New channel on videotron soon, Super Channel 1 to 4 both sd and hd. But does not mention the numbers. You go to illicotech.com
julie_rose_ is offline  
post #42 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-09-24, 11:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
From Videotron's Press Release :

Customers in the greater Montréal area and Gatineau, will be able to sample Super Channel in HD from September 25 to October 9.

Super Channel will be available for $15 on illico TV channels 205, 206, 207 and 208 in standard format, channels 805, 806, 807 and 808 in HD, and channel 900 for on-demand content.
JohnnyFist is offline  
post #43 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-09-24, 11:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
My preference would have been to allocate that bandwidth to the HD upgrade of TMN channels 213-214-215 but that wouldn't bring in any new money. This will... At least it's not 1970s old tv shows upscaled to HD
JohnnyFist is offline  
post #44 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-09-24, 01:53 PM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 104
Montréal area and Gatineau pfff ,Quebec City left out
proggy is offline  
post #45 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-09-26, 03:04 AM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 104
Super Channel was granted as a "must carry" service by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), meaning all television service providers must carry the service on their systems.
proggy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome