Videotron New Channels Discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-02, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chateauguay,PQ
Posts: 8
Free preview is until May 31
u571 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-02, 11:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
I believe it'll be like FX Canada. if you subscribe to TMN package, wont cost you extra as its part of that package.
MrT. is offline  
post #18 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-02, 03:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 280
You are correct. I just checked Videotron's website and AMC is listed as part of the TMN package.
01 Boxer is offline  
 
post #19 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-02, 10:14 PM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 104
You can also get it with the superstations package KTLA,PEACHTREE etc,,.wich is cheaper than TMN/HBO.
proggy is offline  
post #20 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-03, 06:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 332
According to this blog...

Quote:
It's being added to the following packages:

Anglo
Telemax
Telemax+
Mega
Superstations (KTLA, WGN etc.)
The Movie Network (which also includes HBO Canada and FX Canada)
EnderWiggin is offline  
post #21 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-03, 02:13 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
In the Gazette article that announced that Videotron had picked up AMC, they said that the cable company would also be offering it On Demand, which I took to mean that it would be like TMN/HBO wherein if you subscribe to it, you can watch shows and movies that you missed through Illico on Demand at no extra charge. I checked the Illico on Demand listing yesterday though and didn't see AMC in there.
Haggisboy is offline  
post #22 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-04, 09:33 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: DDO, Videotron, Cisco 8642HD
Posts: 303
They do offer the last 3 episodes of "The walking dead" on AMC on demand. Though I was hoping for the full 3rd season since they added the channel so late...
Fonceur is offline  
post #23 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-04, 03:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
I am happy that Videotron is now offering AMC HD but they are still too stingy when it comes to offering all TMN and Superstation channels in HD.

Maybe now with the all this "infinite power of fiber optics" they can open the HD channels floodgates.
expressmoria is offline  
post #24 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-08, 10:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
AMC SD video quality is TERRIBLE.
StPetersburg is offline  
post #25 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-03-09, 08:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
"infinite power of fiber optics"
You're jokimg right. That is just a marketing ploy by Videotron. Bell is using Fibre optics in their terminology and of course Videotron had to follow. They do have fibre but they are too stingy to invest in anything.
rogue17 is offline  
post #26 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-04-13, 12:33 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 662
When watching CTV Montreal News at 6 today, I saw an ad for The Voice. As it was on CTV, the ad mentioned that the Monday part of The Voice would be on CTV2.

Now that surprised me. I believe that majority of CTV Montreal viewers are with Videotron. Do Videotron subscribers get access to CTV2 yet? If not, that ad is rather silly considering majority of its viewers can not even watch CTV2.
hercules130 is offline  
post #27 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-04-13, 02:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,017
I'm betting that Bell Fibe customers get CTV2 and that is probably reason enough for CTV to mention it in their ad.
bigoranget is online now  
post #28 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-04-13, 02:20 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,192
That is not true.

In Quebec, CTV2 is not in basic with Fibe. It is an add on of $3. CTV2 is in the Time Shifting package.

So people that just have basic package have to pay an extra $3 to watch The Voice.

This really sucks if they put that show on CTV2. Not that I watch it but for people that do.

Videotron has CTV2 in their basic.

This is one reason I stuck with Satellite and not switch to Fibe as CTV2 is included in the basic package.
rogue17 is offline  
post #29 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-04-13, 04:47 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 662
So Videotron subscribers outside of the Outaouais get CTV Two? Which CTV2 station do they get?

And those with the Basic only with Bell Fibe do not have to pay extra $3 just to watch The Voice. They can watch it on WPTZ (NBC Vermont).

Last edited by 57; 2013-04-13 at 05:06 PM. Reason: UQR
hercules130 is offline  
post #30 of 161 (permalink) Old 2013-04-13, 08:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,192
Ooops! I didn't know it was on NBC.

But it may happen in the future ,if Bell switches a show from CTV to CTV2 and it isn't aired anywhere else.

Come to think of it CTV2 is available in the basic package but it may differ from region to region.
rogue17 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome