Problem with SA 4250HD terminal - Grey Bars. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 117
Thumbs down Problem with SA 4250HD terminal - Grey Bars.

I just bought a SA 4250HD terminal and have a problem , my TV is a Sony 16:9 connected in HDMI and when I display a 4:3 channel it is impossible to ajust the color (clear, medium, dark) of the 2 lateral bands, with my other terminal a Pace terminal it works , why the SA 4250 give always black border , indepently of the choice in Setting
Thanks
Francois
frmichaud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 117
Angry

I called Videotron Technical service and with a 4250 connected by HDMI they are unable to have clear, medium or dark border they always have black
Conclusion this is a bug in 4250 firmware
Francois
frmichaud is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 03:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hull,QC
Posts: 45
Not true, I am using the HDMI and I can chose grey or black. Press settings twice to get to the option.....
Dagman2 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 117
Angry

I did press setting 2 times and have acessed the menu for border , the videotron technician did the same and both of us were able to select clear or dark but THAT DOES NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ON PICTURE
you probably have a different version of firmware than both of us
that the only explaination
Beware of an firmware update
Francois
frmichaud is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 04:12 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,450
It may depend on other settings - for example, output at 1080i? Fixed? under set picture format, etc.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 117
With the videotron technician we tried ALL the options and we never had grey border, we also configure exactly the same as the pace 551 which provide grey border and that does not work on the 4250, we waisted 90 minutes to try all modes possibles and at the end it is the tecnician who report that is a BUG
Francois
frmichaud is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 05:52 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,450
There is one way to get the grey bars, but it's not because of a setting in the STB. Set up the STB to output 480i for the SD channels - use the Auto-DVI/HDMI setting and enable 480i STANDARD, 720P and 1080i in the Advanced setup wizard. When the TV receives a 480i signal for the SD channels - you can confirm via the display on the front panel of the 4250HD or by pressing "info/display" on most TVs, provided you don't invoke a stretch mode on the TV, you will have grey bars generated by the TV. The HD channels will have black bars on 4:3 upconverts since it's part of the programme.

57 FAQ - Tips For SA (Cisco) STBs. (also Pace)

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-10-06, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 117
Thanks for the infos
Francois
frmichaud is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome