CBS HD - small audio glitches, clicks ?? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-04, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
CBS HD - small audio glitches, clicks ??

Hey....Lately, I've noticed some minor audio glitches (i don't really know how to describe them!) during Criminal Minds, Without A Trace...and most CBS shows I watch. They are like 1-second "clicks".

It's nothing major but I was wondering if others have noticed them too.

They are more frequent at the beginning and end of shows but scattered throughout.

Anyone ??!

Last edited by oBsCuRa; 2009-08-04 at 03:35 PM.
oBsCuRa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-04, 11:12 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Etobicoke, Ontario
Posts: 145
The Dolby Digital encoders and decoders that the cable company uses might need to be reset. Usually the clicks are heard when there's a break in the Dolby 'E' stream.

Cheers!

"Remember kids; no one cares about audio, until they can't hear it!"
Stoakley Audio is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-05, 01:59 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Longueuil, QC
Posts: 261
simple question first : are you using HDMI?

Vive le fun!
Rookie_One is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-05, 07:06 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Yes, I am using HDMI.

The problem only happens on CBS HD. No other channel !
oBsCuRa is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-05, 07:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
Yes I get these audio glitches from CBSHD (Illico signal comes from the Burlington station). The odd thing is that in the case of the Dave Letterman Show, each time he gives us the list of 10 reasons, it happens during the vocal listing.

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-05, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Merci ! Thanks !

At least I know there's nothing wrong with my system.

Gotta write an e-mail to CBS Burlington. It's nothing major but it kinda gets annoying after a while.
oBsCuRa is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-08-05, 12:45 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Damn, I wish I had a CBS station in Burlington.
james99 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome