Changing the hard drive inside the SA8300HD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-07-06, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 93
Changing the hard drive inside the SA8300HD

I was wondering if it was as simple as opening the box and switching the hard drive inside my SA8300HD as it is on a computer. I would love to change the 160GB hard drive for a 1TB.

Anyone?
jrmtl06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-07-06, 09:30 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
you may want to investigate this thread

SA8000/8300HD - Internal Hard Disk Upgrade Works (Cloning too) See Post 1.

It's for the Rogers 8300HD but I assume much of it would apply to Videotron
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-07-19, 01:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Changing the hard drive inside the SA8300HD

I followed the instructions within the thread linked above to install a 320GB disc after the original 160 GB failed in my 8300HD (had a message that recording was impossible due to disc error).

I found the instructions and pictures to be accurate, but did not have to do any special configuration on first power up afterwards. I just plugged it in to cable and power, then left it alone for at least an hour.

The case screws requires a secure torx tool to remove . This is available at Canadian Tire, but I could not find the one tool size needed alone, only as part of a kit.

FlyingB
FlyingB is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-07-20, 12:43 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau, Québec - Videotron
Posts: 146
I second FlyingB comments.

I upgraded to a 500Gb Western Digital drive without any problems.

Instructions in the linked post are accurate and I did not have to do any special configs on startup.

Good luck !

Sharp LC-70LE640U /Yamaha RX-V373 / Explorer 8642HD / PS3 Fat upgraded to 320 Gb
idrive is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-09-11, 10:51 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: YUL
Posts: 415
After changing my HDD in my 8300HD

Since my warranty is over... I decided to change the HDD on my 8300HD.
The change was successful and the 500gb are giving me more space to record HD.

The only issue now, is if I reboot the box, it take a long time and the display
shows some hexa message... and then a countdown from r3FF to r000. Only then it will reboot.

Any idea what can be causing this?

Samsung HL-R4664W / DVD-HD850 / Dreamlink HD / Zotac HTPC / Fibe VIP1232
hsantos is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-09-11, 11:50 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,451
I'm going to close this thread. There's really no need for a separate one from the link in post 2. Please use that one for any further discussions. Also please read post one of that thread and the links there, as well as the last few pages of posts in that thread. It's applicable to all SA8300s, so it's not limited to Rogers.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome