9200 Questions for those looking to buy or rent - Page 12 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #166 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-12, 07:41 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 529
avt1998,

Did you try calling Bells sales line and buy it from them ?

Crispy
Crispy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #167 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-12, 10:16 AM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by struttgart
The question I have is this, will the 92xx display fine on my SD sony Wega? I assume that the SD channels will look fine and that I will not get a good PQ with the HD channels.

Yes it will all work if you use component and HD pq will be very good on your SD television.
Q is offline  
post #168 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-12, 10:21 AM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
I have the Bell 6100 HD receiver on an SD TV- a Sony projection. There is still a "night and day" improvement with the HD channels vs the SD ones. The Wega will look awesome with an HD feed.

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #169 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-12, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 240
I was in the WPG Regent FS AT 2:30 yesterday and they had two 9200s.
arminia is offline  
post #170 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-14, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 49
AVT1998, I live in Ottawa and all sold out here also (tried Best Buy, FS, Bell World, etc...). A guy in one of the Bell World stores told me he had 30 people on his waiting list and that they are currently getting about 1 9200 per week.
gerapau is offline  
post #171 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-15, 02:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
I was talking to Bell yesterday. The tech guy mentioned they had them instock just call and order one.
In_the_dark is offline  
post #172 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-15, 08:09 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 49
Ya, I tried that after I posted yesterday. I got the same info from the CSR (that they were now in stock). He said that the 9200 would be shipped to me today. Hopefully he wasn't wrong (God knows that couldn't happen)!
gerapau is offline  
post #173 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-17, 04:47 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: milton
Posts: 31
i was thinking of getting a dvi-dvi cable for my projector,does the 9220 come with a hdmi connector for the dvi-d cable?

if i choose to install the satellite myself,is it difficult to point the 2 lbn's to the correct birds?

Last edited by raymondeast; 2005-08-18 at 11:15 AM.
raymondeast is offline  
post #174 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-19, 01:33 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondeast
i was thinking of getting a dvi-dvi cable for my projector,does the 9220 come with a hdmi connector for the dvi-d cable?
Yes, it comes with both an hdmi->dvi and a dvi->hdmi cable that can be used separately or connected together to make an hdmi->hdmi cable (the dvi's have opposite genders).

I plugged the cable into my LCD computer monitor's dvi-d and it worked like a charm. The 16:9 spilled over the side and I never tried different configs however it definitely works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondeast
if i choose to install the satellite myself,is it difficult to point the 2 lbn's to the correct birds?
If you are careful to make sure your mounting bracket and arm are perfectly level/vertical and set the elevation and skew carefully then you should have no trouble at all. I ran a TV cable along with my satellite cables so that I could bring a small TV outside to check signal strength. Check the "9200 Installation 101" thread for tips if you have trouble.
beagle is offline  
post #175 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 02:18 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 20
Should I buy a 9200???

I'm an existing BEV subscriber and I'm considering the purchase of a 9200.

I have an idea in my mind of how I would like to set up my system but I'm not sure if it is possible. I've read through this Forum and wasn't able to determine 100% if it can be hooked up in the manner that I would like and if it will perform the way I expect.

Could somebody with some expertise please read through my scenario and let me know if this is reasonable?

I'm going to run off a new dish so I have no dish connection concerns.

I want to use the receiver to run two TVs. The reciever will sit next to TV #1. This TV is currently SD but will be upgraded to HD in the next 6 months.

TV #2 is SD and is located in a different. My house is wired such that I can easily run a coaxial signal from the 9200 to this room (assuming the 9200 has coax output).

My hope is that with this set-up, I could watch different channels on each TV at the same time. I also want the ability to control the PVR and watch recorded shows from each TV.

I would really like to know if this receiver will allow me to do this before I spend $600. (I haven't found much expertise at a few different stores that I visited)

Thanks
seabass is offline  
post #176 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 02:33 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
If TV#1 has component inputs.........Yes.

If TV#2 is older you may need a VCR to be used before the TV to clean up the signal. My newer TV's are fine but my older (7-8years +) are pretty bad without a VCR.

As long as you put it into dual mode each TV can control the box. They will share the hard drive though.
Q is offline  
post #177 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 07:51 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Reiterating JD's advice about TV1 - it MUST be Component Video inputs minimum, (or DVI or HDMMI). RF, Composite, and S-video need not apply for the position of TV1.

For TV2, my 10-year old Sanyo in the other room works just fine via RF coaxial output (channel 21 to 69). You can also use composite for TV2.

You can watch two different satellite channels at once. Or use PIP. Or record one and watch another. Or record two and watch something(s) already recorded. The hard limit is that it has 'only' two satellite tuners.
Jeffy is offline  
post #178 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-24, 11:19 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 20
Thanks guys! That's exactly what I needed to know.

Now, to find a store that actually has one in stock...
seabass is offline  
post #179 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-25, 07:58 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
When you first turn it on, it might be set to 480p (progressive scan) and the picture may be doubled/doubled if your TV isn't progressive scan. Hopefully it will be readable on your TV. Follow the menus (both of them) and set it to 480i.

I'm not sure if the receiver had to download an update before 480i was available. I was running blind for the earliest stages of the installation.
Jeffy is offline  
post #180 of 393 (permalink) Old 2005-08-28, 04:59 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 98
9200 Connections

I apologize in advance if this question has been clarified in the body of this thread, but a search has not been helpful. I am moving to Bell for the first time and hope to recieve my 9200 this week. I have opted for professional installation.

I plan on delaying the purchase of a HDTV RPTV until this fall. In the meantime I plan on running component video to an X-1 for HD material and s-video to an older direct view TV (in the same room) for those programs where pictue quality is not an issue. Does this present any problems? How should I set up the 9200, single or dual tuner? I would like a single audio connection to my pre/pro.

Any comments much appreciated.

wp
wptbay is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome