Bell TV 9400 Discussion Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ON
Posts: 531
Bell TV 9400 Discussion Thread

The last few days with every install of a 9241 I've had Bell in their infinite (lack of) wisdom has started labeling the job info as a 9400 install. I've never seen nor even heard of a 9400 till then.

Anyone?
monkeyhunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 12:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
That model number was introduce into the DART system in error when Bell launched the 6400 model. To the very best of my knowledge the 9400 does not exist and will not exist it was merely a typo that someone made and as yet nobody has removed from the systems.

EDIT:

OK, I was wrong. Just had a confirmation that a 9400 is in the works. It is scheduled for an October Release but as yet I have no further information on it, other than it will be a Dual Tuner 2 Room solution. Maybe it will be a dumbed down version of the 9252 I posted about a long time ago or hopefully it is the 9252 just re-numbered......

I will post more as I get more details.

Last edited by Pinza; 2012-08-14 at 01:49 PM. Reason: Updated info
Pinza is offline  
post #3 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ON
Posts: 531
I remember it appeared in dart as a couple of flukes for a few days months ago when we still had the handhelds. Also I remember it wasn't interchangeable with 9241 to leave as is on the dart as 3100 and 4100 are.

I left it 9400 on dart exactly once and I couldn't get my 9241 to activate....all sorts of PITA. Now after being gone for months it's back with a vengeance on every single install of a 9241 we have. I just assume from that bad past experience and swap it to 9241.
monkeyhunk is offline  
 
post #4 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 07:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,777
Finally a 9242 replacement! Keep us posted guys. This sounds very interesting.
peano is offline  
post #5 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 07:25 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,090
monkeyhunk, you should be able to active a 9241 in the Dart as a 9400 now. I've been doing it for weeks with no problems.

I actually asked a CSR today if he knew what was up with the 9241s being coded as 9400s, seeing as how the 9400 doesn't even exist, and he kind of hesitated for a second and was like "well, there is, er, will.... uhhh... I don't know", which seemed kind of suspicious to me lol.
JoeLouie is offline  
post #6 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 07:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
It was due to launch Aug 1st but was put back into 4th quarter, so rumor has it.
Pinza is offline  
post #7 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 07:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Hopefully this is true. They want to swap my 9200 with 2 receivers and I've been refusing.

They keep telling me they don't make a receiver that will work with 2 TVs anymore. I told them unless the swap is for something that will do what my current receiver does I'm not interested.
notsure is offline  
post #8 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 08:27 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,090
I wouldn't hold your breath waiting for the "9400" to be released before the 9200s are deactivated. The MPEG swap has been going on since October, at this point I'm sure that they just want to finish it and make the switch to MPEG4. Have you tried asking for a 9242?
JoeLouie is offline  
post #9 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 09:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
You will end up with a couple of Boat anchors. Do the swap, sell BOTH 5900's and look around for a good used 9242 unless you can convince them to give you the 9242's you want.

As JoeLouie says this has been going a long time, and time is running out, get what you can while you can.
Pinza is offline  
post #10 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 09:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
While this is off topic (my apologies), our plan would be to leave Bell if they won't supply us with something equivalent. We are fed up with their customer service (or lack of) when something goes wrong so this is just another nail in the coffin.

Our 9200 is a rental and it's over 5.5 years old. If they want it back, they can have it back. You would think they would have put their rental customers at the top of the list but that wasn't the case. We weren't "eligible" to swap the unit until we got our letter in July.

When I asked about a 9242 they said that they didn't have any more and that even if they did, it wouldn't support the 2 TVs anyway. At that point I told them to call us back when they have a single unit that would work for us.

I'm going to call and check on a "9400" and see what they say. We have nothing to lose as we are fully prepared to leave them. They've already lost cell, internet and are about to lose home phone so who knows. Getting rid of satellite with them would make us Bell free which does have a nice ring!
notsure is offline  
post #11 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 10:03 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,090
Until they officially announce a 9400 that CSRs aren't going to be able/allowed to tell you anything about it. Hell, they probably won't even know about it until 6 months after it's released lol.

By the sounds of it, you're either going to have to keep insisting that they give you a 9242, or you're going to have to leave Bell.
JoeLouie is offline  
post #12 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-14, 10:12 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham, ON
Posts: 72
I left Bell 2 weeks ago over their customer service. I have a well functioning 9242 that is going back to Bell. I can tell you that there is at least 1 9242 available.
Keaters is offline  
post #13 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-15, 10:27 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 556
Will the 9400 2-TV solution support 2 HD TVs, or is it the old 1-HD and 1-SD solution all over again?

What would be the difference between a 9400 and a 9242?
Panache70 is offline  
post #14 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-15, 11:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
We don't know yet, it is still shrouded in mystery.

If I were to guess and that is all it is, I think it might have no Component Outputs (like the 6400) and still offer TV2 via Coax in SD. It should have a larger Internal Drive as well but as I say, this is nothing more than a guess.
Pinza is offline  
post #15 of 864 (permalink) Old 2012-08-15, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
Question to Pinza,

since OTA antennas can transmit HD over an RG6 coax cable, could it be possible for Bell's HD service to be transmitted to TV2 using an RG6 cable connected to an HD flat-screen TV?
46FD04 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome