Bell Satellite TV Channel 1000 missing - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-04-26, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Bell Satellite TV Channel 1000 missing

Hello. I have Bell Satellite TV with an 9241 receiver. I receive all of my channels plus the PPV channels, however, I do not receive channel 1000 - the video on demand channel. I have tried all of the suggestions on this forum (ie: recycle power, etc), but nothing works. I have escalated the issue to Bell Satellite TV. They sent no less than 6 vans to my home with multiple technicians each time. They ran their battery of tests and in the end gave up. They have no idea why channel 1000 is missing. I had no energy left to pursue the issue with them.

Worst, my neighbour recently switched to Bell Satellite TV and has channel 1000 on his programming guide.

Anyone have any ideas or things to try.
Koota is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-04-26, 09:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,152
You don't have it locked out from your guide?

-Mike

Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is online now  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-04-26, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mike, thanks for replying. I wish it was as simple as that. I do not have the channel locked out. I have removed all locks.
Koota is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-04-27, 12:46 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 520
Call Skydish, and have them remove your receiver from your account, and then add it back once all your programming is gone. If your receiver has been swapped already, have bell deactivate your account for a bit, so you can reset the programming. Good luck!

Everything
Costa is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-04-27, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Hi Costa. Yes, I have had the receiver removed from my account and re-added. Bell has swapped out the receiver 3 times alreadying thinking it was a hardware problem. I have had the receiver deactivated and reactivated from my account already, but no success.

I have also swapped out HDMI cable and made sure also the receiver is not plugged into a power bar, but has its out outlet.

The only logicial conclusion I can drive is the satellite is not broadcasting the VOD channel. Sorry, if I am not saying this in a technically proficient jargon.

Thanks for your feedback Costa.
Koota is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-05-11, 11:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
I've got the same issue here but with a twist. My 9242 is not getting the on demand 1000 channels but my 9241 is. I've tried rebooting the 9242 and made sure the lock is off. No 1000 channels still. Anyone have any ideas.
cradar is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 01:34 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 93
Got them here in Winnipeg on my 9242, but since its Video On Demand or Pay Per Vu I don't plan on buying any movies for now.
mitigator is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-05-13, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Hi Cradar. You can try the some of the suggestions on this thread, or their are other threads on at this forum where there are other suggestions to try. To by clear, on my 9241, the channels go to 999 and then 1011. Channel 1000 does not appear which is the video on demand channel, not to be confused with Pay per channels. I really don't like the pay per view, as it does not give you the flexibility to watch movies when you want to. I would have not bothered with video on demand from Bell, but given that all of Blockbuster and most of Rodger's video rentals have come to an end, video on demand now becomes an option to watching movies. I have tried netflix, but am not impressed with the selection. I am off next weekend to get Apple TV, so I can rent movies thru iTunes.

What really bothers me, is that I know this is going to be simple fix, but Bell cannot resolve the issue. For sure at some point, an entrant will come to the market to eat Bell's lunch. Sorry for my rant.
Koota is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome