MPEG4 Receiver swap starts October 23rd 2011, Read Post 1. - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 06:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,267
The 9241 does have a dual tuner, but it does not do PIP or split picture. You can't even swap tuners like you can with the 9200 to watch two things at once. The only way to watch two things at once with the 9241 is to record both channels and go back and forth from the PVR list.

The 9241 is similar to the Shaw Cable boxes that are dual tuner, and don't do PIP even though there is a PIP button on the Shaw remote. You can swap tuners with the Shaw boxes, but you cannot with the 9241.
jumpy27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 06:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 892
OTA is THE reason I bought my 9200. You can actually record three programs at the same time, two satellite and one OTA. I record ALL my US programs OTA. I hate sim subs where you often miss portions of the beginning or end of shows. I will wait and see what they offer but if it does not include OTA I will not accept it.
jdevlin is offline  
post #18 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxtwit View Post
Pinza, do 6131s have UHF remotes? If not, that's going to be an issue - all of my 6100s are nicely hidden away.
Nope. I can only hope that they provide a UHF Extender, like they did with the 6000 swap a few years ago.

I know of hundreds of Commercial locations, with 6100's hidden above the suspended ceilings.....lol
Pinza is offline  
post #19 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 07:06 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria
Posts: 99
so if I have a 3100, will i need a new one?
newsjunkie is offline  
post #20 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 07:10 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
No. please read post #1 this is for 6100 and 9200 HD Receivers
hugh is offline  
post #21 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 07:33 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 587
Sorry Jumpy27 and Pinza. I did some more research and you are both correct, the 9241 does not do PIP. What a shame and waste of dual tuners.
Gino Cerullo is offline  
post #22 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 09:19 PM
AFF
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 854
So if someone is at there receiver limit(5?) already are Bell going add a 9241 and a 5900 to the account? I guess they would have no choice.
AFF is online now  
post #23 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 09:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,762
Indeed. What about people with four or five 9200s on their acount? Will they end up with 10 receivers?

I would accept a 9241 and 6141 for a 9200.
peano is offline  
post #24 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 10:16 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingston, ON - Bell ES 9241, Onkyo NR808, Oppo93, AppleTV3, Vizio 55", PSB & Yamaha speakers for 7:1
Posts: 71
9242 or 9241 ??

I'm a recent Bell sat customer. While checking other things tonight I happened on the 'specs' page of the receiver. My '9242' [on the front of box] says it's a 9241 as per model number in specs.

Anyone??
ExRobotGuy is offline  
post #25 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 10:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,762
System Info will tell you what it is.
peano is offline  
post #26 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-06, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 619
Are they going to put these 43 SD channels on the 82 satellite and make them MPEG 4? I'm having a problem making sense of their thinking here.

I still say they should stop selling the SD receivers, so they can eventually make everything MPEG 4.
Interceptor is offline  
post #27 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 07:57 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 334
I have 6 receivers on my account already, including 1 9242. I imagine they will try and give the replacement 9242s to the custumers who already have 6 on their account.


UPDATE: I just got off the phone with Bell.. I have two receivers to be replaced, a 9242 and a 6100. He said that since we already have 6 receivers on our account, if we didn't end up getting a 9242 in the swap they would most likely make an exception and allow a 7th (this isn't official, just what he told me). I actually don't mind if we don't get a 9242. We do use the 2nd tuner out, but I could make it work with the free 5900..
mikec is offline  
post #28 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 09:58 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
@ AFF The limit is 6 Receivers NOT 5.
@ Peano I agree, a 9241 & 6131, would also be acceptable to me.
@ Interceptor No they will NOT be MPEG4, if they were no-one with a 3100,4100,5900 would be able to see them. They may well go onto 82 but I doubt it. Who knows.
Pinza is offline  
post #29 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 10:00 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 334
I also agree about the 9241 & 6131 instead. Then you can make a PVR yourself.
mikec is offline  
post #30 of 1230 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 10:26 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newcastle, ON
Posts: 118
Right now with my 9200 when I use the 2nd output I can access and record the HD channels.
If I was to get a 9241 and a 5900, would the 5900 even see the HD channels?
cascarbob is offline  
Reply

Tags
9200 , mpeg2 , mpeg4

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome