Very confused about Bell 9242 installation. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Very confused about Bell 9242 installation.

Hello,

I have just received a Bell HD PVR 9242 receiver, and I'm a little confused about installing it.

I've seen some diagrams, but I get lost in them.

I guess I'm looking for a simple answer to my question, as I only have the one box, and one cable running into my house.

Am I able to install a new LNB, use a switch, and run the single cable into the Satellite 1 input on the receiver?

Will that provide me with both 82 and 91? What will the adverse effects be? Will it limit my PVR capabilities?

Or...Is there another way to split that single cable coming from the switch at the dish in order to use both satellite inputs?

Thanks for your help. This appears to be slightly more difficult than expected. I can't even get the receiver activated until I have a signal from both 82 and 91.

Thanks.
tazz121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 01:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,152
If you must live with just one cable coming into your house, the quickest solution is to use a DPP Twin LNB and a separator. See this thread for detail - The DishPro Plus (DPP) twin lnb

-Mike

Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 01:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Bell might provide free installation if you agree to sub to HD channels.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 01:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazz121 View Post
I can't even get the receiver activated until I have a signal from both 82 and 91.
Not true, I know of a few Customers who bought the 9242 for the Dual Tuner capabilities and the fact that the 5200 is no longer available, they subscribe to SD Channels only and have older CRT TV's that are not HD.
Pinza is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 09:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 23
I believe the error Tazz is getting has to do with no signal input on tuner 2, not due to the fact he is only on sat 91.
opt67 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 09:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I have read and re-read the first post and cannot see that he/she is even getting an error message.

He/she appears to just want clarification and advice on how to proceed.
Pinza is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 09:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 23
You're right... my mistake.

I must have read too far into it. When tazz indicated that he/she wasn't able to authorize the receiver, I figured it was due to the screen that pops up about checking tuner 2... please wait to continue. I went thru that with my 9242 when I installed it. (had to find my separator to connect both tuners) As soon as both tuners were hooked... then it popped up the call sky dish to authorize with IRD and smartcard # screen.
opt67 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-01-02, 10:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Sure enough some of the Refurbished ones turning up at the moment have some very odd firmware on them.

I fought with one today, great signal on both tuners via SW21's but would not download Bell Software. Gave it 91 only on both Tuners it was fine.

Very odd.
Pinza is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 12:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
swapping 6131 for 9242

similar question: I would like to swap my 6131 for a 9242. My setup (done by bell) to support 2 6131's is 4 cables from quad, each set of 91/82 going to a sw21 to create two cables into the house and each one goes to a separate receiver. When I take one of the cables and connect to 9242 (using another SW21 at the receiver), it does not work. only sees one (91/82) satellite. Which sound like what would be expected but I believe the 9242 needs to see another satellite to fully function as a dual receiver. Do you know what I'm missing. Is there a way to using only one cable??
BTW: tested connecting the two feeds from the dish directly to the 9242 and both satellites are discovered (sat1 91/82 and sat2 91/82).
barrieboi is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 01:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,768
You cannot use the SW21 at the receiver.

With your setup, you need both runs from the dish connected to each tuner on the 9242.

Or swap the LNBs to a DPP Twin and then you can use a seperator at the 9242. See post number 2 above.
peano is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 03:50 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 862
@barrieboi

DO NOT connect an SW21 to the back of your 9241 receiver!

You stated;

"My setup (done by bell) to support 2 6131's is 4 cables from quad..."

Did you mean your dish has two separate LNB's on it, each with two cables connected to it?

And, you have two SW21's connected to these LNB's, and a single cable from each SW21 to each 6131?

Have I got that correct?

If this is the case, do what Peano, suggested.

-disconnect and remove the two 6131's
-disconnect and remove the two separate LNB's from your dish, DO NOT move the dish!
-disconnect and remove the two SW21 switches
-purchase and install a DPP Twin LNB on your dish
-connect the two cables that were attached to the OUT of your SW21's, to the two OUTS of the DPP Twin LNB
-DO NOT use the 3rd connector of the DPP Twin, marked LNB IN
-purchase TWO DPP Separators
-install a DPP Separator on the back of each 9241 receiver
-connect the 2 incoming cables, one to each DPP Separator
-do a Check Switch test on each receiver
46FD04 is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 04:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks for the quick reply peano, I'll give that a try, I suppose I can use a standard splitter on the other cable that is going to the 6131?
barrieboi is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 04:38 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,088
No, you can't use a splitter.
JoeLouie is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 08:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
46FD04, you have it correct but in the end I will want to have one 6131 and one 9242 installed with the option to upgrade the 6131 to a 9242 at a later date.
According to the previous post, the twin lnb should do the job.
Do you know the dish model # for DPP twin lnb?
barrieboi is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-08-13, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 862
@barrieboi,

Google DPP Twin LNB Photos and you will see what it looks like.
46FD04 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome