Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

External Hard Drive Discussions - See Facts Link in Post 1.

477K views 1K replies 351 participants last post by  kilohertz 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I'm new to this so please bear with me. I've tried searching with no success.

I just upgraded to a 9241 because my kids gave me an external hard drive for my BD.

Anyway, it formated just fine so here is my question.

As I keep recording movies etc, does the external drive become an overflow when the 9241 is full?? If this isn't the case, do I have to archieve shows to the external drive manually??

Once movies etc are in the hard drive do I just access them for watching the same as if they're on the 9241 drive.

I hope I explained properly but I'm sure somebody will let me know if not. :p

Here's the link to the eHDD facts thread. Read it to find the appropriate eHDD, etc.

Bell External Hard Drive Facts - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Do not ask questions in the Facts thread. Use this thread for questions.

See less See more
#2 ·
As I keep recording movies etc, does the external drive become an overflow when the 9241 is full?? If this isn't the case, do I have to archieve shows to the external drive manually??
The EHD is just for archiving your recordings, you cannot record directly to it. Ensure that you never fill it or you will experience major problems, as outlined elsewhere in these forums.

#760 ·
So let me understand this as I'm new to this too.

This EHD is basically a storage place for your recordibngs?

So if you don't record alot of movies/programs with your PVR or actually keep them for good this EHD wouldn't be worth fit or me to buy?(I don't really keep records mainly to view at a latere date then earse.)

A few questions.

1)If I get this EHD can I put it on another 9241?

2)Can I connect this EHD to a computer and watch my recording there?