ABS-CBN Filipino (on IA5 12090) moving to DTV - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2005-09-27, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 384
Unhappy ABS-CBN Filipino (on IA5 12090) moving to DTV

Looks like ABS-CBN (Filipino TV) is moving to DTV by next summer. This change should shake up the contents of that entire transponder (IA5, 12090) by mid-2006. Also, there should be up to 80,000 units of surplus FTA-capable gear (Atlanta DTH receivers, linear LNBFs, perhaps some of the bigger ku-band dishes) on the used market.
Jeffy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2005-10-16, 08:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,113
Not only that Dave (Direct TV) bought the Philippino Channel.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-01-19, 03:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Hello

Newbie here, is there any FTA channels in Filipino, if so what do i need, I am in Toronto
locus is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-02-01, 12:05 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4
I am too interested if there are FTA ABS-CBN in Vancouver. I used to have the TFC satellite but sold it after a few years.
Jokir is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-02-07, 07:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Dishnetwork just added

Viva TV Philippines
RPN 9
NBN

plus they have The Mabuhay Channel

all on DISH Network on EchoStar 9 at 121.0°W
TG982 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-02-08, 11:35 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 15
huh? so is there FTA filipino channels??
hpin is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-02-10, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Philippino channels

Any ideas guys? I'm looking as well (KU Band) FTA. Located west of Toronto.

Thanks
Screamin is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-03-15, 07:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 51
ABS-CBN on IA5@97W is not FTA. It's Irdeto2 encrypted.
croat is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-03-15, 10:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screamin
Any ideas guys? I'm looking as well (KU Band) FTA. Located west of Toronto.

Thanks

Sad to tell you other than I think one religious channel on IA-5 I do not think there is any FTA programming from the Philippines.

4DTV DSR922 HDD 200 VC 2+ GI2500R VC 2 Pansat 2500a c/ku/dbs feed 10.6ft Clearview mesh AMC-8 to AMC-12 24"Venture.
tdti1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome