Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

New Member Free-to-Air Satellite Discussion Thread

465K views 600 replies 179 participants last post by  57 
#1 ·
I have a question and am a complete newbie to satellites. I've been on the Lyngsat site, but have a question. It says "Channels from <location>". Does it mean I can only get channels from North America? I live in the GTA and Canada's pickings are very slim, and the U.S. doesn't have that much I want to watch either. Can I receive signals from other countries (assuming they use NTSC, like Japan)?

Sorry if this is in a FAQ, but I didn't find it anywhere.

Edit by 57 - Dish Size: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/57-...tellite-discussion-thread-35.html#post2452466

#3 ·
I am in Montreal, I can get from bellow AMC-7 (but there is trees in the way) to past INT-805 I would be able to catch some feeds off of NSS-806 but I would need a wideband feedhorn, and the fact that my house is in the way don't help much :)

#5 ·
You do realize that pretty much the only FTA on Dish is NASA, and Bell has nothing.

(Other than the respective company's promo channels showing how to hook up a receiver.)

#6 ·
ken0042 said:
You do realize that pretty much the only FTA on Dish is NASA, and Bell has nothing.

(Other than the respective company's promo channels showing how to hook up a receiver.)
That is not correct. On Dish GolTV is FTA - heaven for soccer fans. Also 30 music audio channels.
On BEV the radio channels are FTA, as well as the HD Demo loop.

#7 ·
So to get it right, if I have a FTA receiver for 110 and 119 all I would get for free is the NASA and Goaltv and the 30 music channels? Its better then nothing but its not much ;)

#8 ·
New to FTA satellite