C band and KU band - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2017-03-28, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Delta, BC
Posts: 202
C band and KU band

Looking at the GeoSatPro HDVR 3500, it seems that the tuner is good for both the C band and the KU band. I am happy enough with my HDVR 1200 but as I lose more KU band channels I was wondering if there was a dual KU band and C band LNB I could pop into my dish and get some C-band on the same set-up, if I also change the receiver.

Laurie with a motorized 4 ft dish in Ladner, BC
laurienicol is online now  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2017-03-28, 02:49 PM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kanata
Posts: 533
Firstly, any FTA satellite receiver will cover both C band and Ku band, it's just a matter of selecting the correct local oscillator (LO) frequency in the configuration menus. When the GeoSatPro HDVR 3500 came out last year, there were an awful lot of issues with it. I think they have mostly been resolved now, but you should do some research to get an accurate status on it. In other forums, the LINKBOX 9000i is being recommended. There are two versions, one with two satellite tuners, and another (termed the Local) which has one satellite tuner and one ATSC tuner in the box. It's also does IPTV.

The only combined C-Ku LNB on the market is this one. Be aware that because of the compromise design, the Ku performance is not as good as a dedicated Ku LNBF. You will need a conical scalar to use with it (assuming you have an offset dish - the flat scalars are only for prime focus dishes). Many enthusiasts attach a Ku LNBF beside a C-band LNB (aka sidecar) and usually get better performance that way.

I had a 4-foot dish set up for C band (but with a dedicated C band LNB) and got worthwhile results.
DXer is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2017-03-28, 06:25 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,315
There are other C/Ku LNBFs around. But either way you get what you for.
No LNBF will make up for an undersized antenna. I don't use an LNBF, I use a dual band feedhorn with separate LNBs for C and Ku on a Prime focus 7.5' mesh. There indeed are some signals that are too weak to receive on that. 10' or more would be more ideal, but it's what I have available... Mostly higher order modulation that I am not particularly interested in, and the lower, near the horizon sats (mostly due to local obstruction) will have trouble. I am guessing that an undersized offset antenna will produce spotty unpredictable results on CBAND.

Below are details from my antenna:
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner, Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit.

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-01-05, 09:15 PM
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
I am trying to bring in galaxy 17 c band with a captive works reciever. What do I need
Grizzly2136 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-01-06, 09:04 AM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kanata
Posts: 533
Originally Posted by Grizzly2136 View Post
I am trying to bring in galaxy 17 c band with a captive works reciever. What do I need
Can you give more details about the equipment you have? Assuming you have a dish, what size is it? Do you have a clear line-of-sight to the satellite? What is the model number of the receiver? What channels on G17 are you trying to get? What's your approximate geographic location?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk
DXer is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-01-06, 01:12 PM
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brandon MB
Posts: 72
I'll say you will need about 8-12 foot dish and a c-band lnbf. That's what you need for G17 C-Band. There's not very many free channels on that one...
sparkycivic is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-01-07, 12:02 PM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 794

I suspect your results with a 4 ft dish on C band will be disappointing. As well a combo LNBF will add to the poor results.

Apparently the newer PLL LNBFs do perform well. Do some research on the internet before you commit to anything!

FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, Avenger PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR
Jorgek is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-01-08, 10:10 AM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fort Erie, ON
Posts: 875
With both C-Band and KU-band, I recommend finding out what others in your area are successfully using, and if you are gambling on a new piece of equipment, buy from someone with a good return policy if things don't work out to your liking.
Inglewood is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2018-01-20, 02:04 PM
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern Manitoba
Posts: 346
The C-band PLL LNBF is a good unit, I have several. You do have to make sure they are connected with good quality feedline though as the extra current (amperage) can cause a "fair" connection that worked well before to break down under the extra load. My setup uses powered switches out at the dish to run the LNBFs so there is very little load on the rest of the system (cables, diseqc switches, and receivers).

SBGH @ 46', 10' C-band, & various home made projects...
Cham is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome