Louisiana PBS Symbol rate change - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-17, 09:53 AM
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberham View Post
http://beta.lpb.org/index.php/site/satellite/
If you have a strong enough signal, it should blind scan in.
now it does.

60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-17, 11:50 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
A Plan

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilspin View Post
I am getting the same issues with shorter RG 6 and no trees. 90 and 10-25%
Next sunny warm day, I'll take my Canadian Tire car battery booster, inverter, S9, slingbox, wifi adapter down to the dish, connect directly to the LNB output with a short jumper, then transmit the video back to my house router. I can use my wifi PC to catch the video from my router while standing beside the dish. Or...I could get one of the many free 13" TVs advertised on kijiji and just hook it to my S9 that's connected to the LNB. I have a plan; I need nice weather.

This will settle for zero cost whether reducing cable length will help the received signal strength of LPB.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-17, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilspin View Post
How do you find this out?
Wilspin,
You mean how to determine all of the parameters?
By using the PC Based Tuner, Prof 7500, a Windows PC (Laptop), and Crazyscan.
Basically ya wind up with a poor man's spectrum analyser, with Blindscan capability.
The program reports all the parameters from the frontend for you.
You can also send the entire Transport Stream to TSReader for further analysis, and from there stream a particular channel to VLC for Playback.
Very Cool, highly recommended!

SBGH rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd Sammy pctuner hdhomerun mythtv
majortom is online now  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-17, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,686
cyberham,
the setup I just described above would be very handy in a case like yours,
Because the program actually does an RF sweep of the entire IF spectrum, you'll get a visual indication of the RF Signal strength across the band.
You could compare a sweep as is down the entire length of your feedline,
then sweep again with the tuner closer to the antenna, and compare the overall levels, and ability to lock known transponders.
After a while you get a feel for what it takes, SNR wise to lock different types of feeds.

If you really want to know what it takes, download this spreadsheet which is useful to compare the measured C/N versus the known parameters a certain feed is using, you can then determine exactly how much margin you have in your system for that feed.

http://www.32apsk.org/wordpress/?p=240

Personally I think something was wrong with that transponder the other nite. I'll try and check it out again later tonite, see if it still acts up on me here.
If it does there may not be anything really wrong on ur end.

SBGH rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd Sammy pctuner hdhomerun mythtv
majortom is online now  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-17, 10:38 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 562
@MT--> It seems you recommend the Prof7500, where did you get it? I cant find it anywhere, including *bay.

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-17, 11:18 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,686
ur right I don't see them at DRsat's site. I wonder if they might sell them but just don't advertise it?

http://proftuners.com/prof7500.html

It's PCI cousin is the 7301.

PS - Just because I have one doesn't mean it's the best card out there. Honestly, I wouldn't really know
because it's the only one I've ever had. But I have been happy with it.

SBGH rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd Sammy pctuner hdhomerun mythtv
majortom is online now  
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 09:28 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraven View Post
@MT--> It seems you recommend the Prof7500, where did you get it? I cant find it anywhere, including *bay.
Check *bay listing 320845806837

If I could get at this price, I would grab it. Are we going to bid against each other?

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 02:40 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montréal (Rosemont)
Posts: 283
I am able to receive LPB on my Pansat 9200HD (with the S2 extension) and a 1-meter antenna. Thanks for the info.
Yagi is offline  
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-19, 07:37 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberham View Post
Check *bay listing 320845806837...
It sold for US$50. I feel guilty in letting it pass without trying for it, but the guy wouldn't confirm he would ship to Canada.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 10:01 AM
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 638
poor signal LPBS

This TP is weak. How can i improve it?

60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 10:40 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
1. Reduce losses in system: shorten dish-to-receiver cable length; change cable to lower loss type, eliminate any diseqc switches between LNB and receiver, confirm cable connectors are good quality and installed well.

2. Increase received signal level: orient dish precisely both azimuth and elevation; change LNB for a model with lower noise figure, higher gain; increase dish size.

3. Give up and try for 125W Ku PBS where there is a good assortment of PBS stations also.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 11:21 AM
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 638
Tried 1, 2 to no avail. 3 is not an option as 119 and up are too low on the horizon here.

60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 11:40 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
PBS North Carolina is currently ITC and available from 61.5W Ku. That local could disappear any time, but it's easy to get and strong right now with a circular LNB. Any chance to get OTA PBS from Rochester or Buffalo? You've got a nice tall tower for a high gain TV antenna. Ever thought of going to C-band? I'll bet drsat could fix you up with necessary hardware. I presume PBS is available on C-band.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 03:34 PM
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 638
U got some details on PBS @61.5? Rochester PBS is not reliable this time of year, Buffalo is rock solid always. I just like multiple choices. Spoke with DR Sat last week about large dish. we will see.

60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
Tonight I am receiving LPB2 and LPB3 the best in the last 2 or 3 months. Both are solid with only occasional break in the video. LPBHD is clear audio but no video. Yet the RF signal seems not to be any stronger than any other time. Hard to understand why reception is considerably better today than usual.

Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome