[360] HD DVD modification - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-28, 03:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yonge & Sheppard, Toronto
Posts: 387
[360] HD DVD modification

After reading some threads about modifying the 20GB HDD enclosure to fit a 120GB drive, it got me thinking about the HDDVD add-on drive. Would it be possible (probablity being something different altogether) to take out the drive and swap it for a blu-ray player, or an LG (HDDVD/Blu-ray) combo drive? Maybe with a little help of some firmware swapping?

I'm going to assume the HDDVD add-on is nothing other than a SATA to USB2.0 bridge inside a powered enclosure mounted with a HDDVD drive. When connected to any computer will play regular DVDs no problem. With some software it can read data HDDVDs, and with some CPU horsepower (of which I have not), and a video card & monitor with HDCP, you can watch HDDVDs on your computer too.

Sony 32XBR1, Antennas Direct CS2, Xbox360 & BD. Gamertag: "DT Vancity" <-- get it, DTV?
blakew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-28, 09:30 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,452
Many people have used the 360 HD-DVD drive with their PCs.

In XP there was a UDF driver required and IIRC it was plug and play in Vista.
jvincent is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-29, 08:36 AM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 516
I'm not certain why you'd want to put a blu-ray player in there, is it to just have an external drive for your PC (which you already said doesn't have horsepower to do movies so would be useless)? The Xbox can't play blu-ray movies since it doesn't have the software so I can't see any modification to the HDDVD drive being worth the effort?
Drainc is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-30, 12:29 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drainc View Post
I'm not certain why you'd want to put a blu-ray player in there
He probably wants to be able to watch blu-rays using his Xbox 360.

Frankly considering the hassle and the cost, to me it wouldn't be worth it with how cheap you can get a standalone blu-ray player these days (less than $200). Even if you could get it work you still would lose out on the HD surround codecs as the 360 can't output them.
the hawk is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-31, 12:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yonge & Sheppard, Toronto
Posts: 387
Hawk, you had it right. I was looking to play BR on the 360.

And you're right again, even if it did work, by the time I was done, with all the money and effort, I might as well have bought a BR stand alone player.

Sony 32XBR1, Antennas Direct CS2, Xbox360 & BD. Gamertag: "DT Vancity" <-- get it, DTV?
blakew is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome