Help with router - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2007-10-04, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Guelph,Ont.
Posts: 313
Help with router

I have recently purchased a laptop and would like to connect with my desktop through a router.
I have no knowledge of routers so I would appreciate all the help that I can get.
Does the router connect to the desktop, laptop, or both?
I note there are different types with designations such as "b", "g" and "n".
Which would I get? Any recommendations as to brands?
Many thanks.
docted is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2007-10-04, 02:00 PM
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
The router connects to your cable or DSL modem.

The computers can connect physically to the router using ethernet or wirelessly (if its a wireless router).

Simply speaking b/g/n is the speed. B is old and slow so avoid it. Wireless-G is the most common and best value today. N still has some potential compatibility issues and has variable performance and is more costly so I would avoid it unless you really understand why you need to go past wireless G.

All of them come with extensive instruction manuals and are generally easy to setup. Popular Brands include linksys, d-link, netgear.

See the companies website for more details and manuals. Linksys and D-link have extensive FAQ sections and flash demos on their sites which can explain everything
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2007-10-04, 02:01 PM
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,455
Do you also have a DSL or cable modem connection?

If so, what you usually do is connect the modem to the router to manage the single internet connection for multiple PCs. Any PCs you have are also connected to the router.

For now I would stay away from the "n" ones. You should be able to get a "g", which will also include "b" for under $100. I haven't checked prices in a while.

Either Linksys or Netgear are good options and the setup instructions are pretty straightforward.

EDIT: hugh types faster than I do.
jvincent is online now  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome