Looking to setup a NAS - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By NeilN
  • 1 Post By timlocke

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 2017-11-13, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Looking to setup a NAS

I am new to the whole NAS thing and am looking to set one up. I have narrowed it down to the following models below, unless someone suggests another unit that's better. I decided to go a step up from the entry models for future proofing.

I am looking for advice on which model to go with, keeping in mind reliability and price.

Western Digital My Cloud PR2100
SYNOLOGY DS218+
SYNOLOGY DS218

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 2017-11-13, 10:54 PM

Just my two cents and words of advice on Synology...

I was a dedicated user of Synology devices and had several over the years as new models were released (DS410, 410j, 411j, 412, 414+). I have dual configurations so my investments in NAS is not inexpensive! I require solid products & dependability is key to managing my photo libraries & several computer system backups supporting my business.

They left me very disappointed on 2 major failures where they just abandoned me and the legions of people when they refused to repair or upgrade bad chips on their motherboards. 1st the system was 2 months out warranty when and update of theirs bricked my system. I accepted it and upgraded. One 412 unit failed after an upgrade where it kept loosing it's configuration. It took a downgrade to get it backup & running following hacks on their forums. They did send me a replacement (which took two weeks to arrive). The last straw was the failure of the 414+ unit loosing configuration after an update (seeing a pattern here?). It took one week for a support reply by which time I had purchased 2 QNAP TS451+ replacements and sold both my units on Kijiji.