Video card and extended display help - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 06:01 AM Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 222
Video card and extended display help

Ok, so a coworker bought a new video card and monitor

We installed the vid card and plugged in the monitor and nada.

Once the video card is snapped into place, the onboard stops working; switching the monitors from plug to plug, one screen is black and the one in the new vid card slot displays and in the control panel, the only one acknowledged is the one in the new slot. There is a second one "acknowledged" but it is more the vid card itself

Unsure about his mobo; he has no splash screen with bios info or anything.

Specs dealing with are:

Compaq 8200 elite cmt pc

System bios J01 v02.06


Version 2.10.1208

American Megatrends

ZOTAC ZT-20203-10L GeForce GT 220 Synergy Edition Video Card - 1024MB, GDDR2, PCI-Express 2.0 (x16), 1x Dual-Link DVI, 1x HDMI, 1x VGA, DirectX 10.1, Single-Slot

ACER G185H VB 18.5IN 1366x768 VGA MONITOR
thebone is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 08:22 AM
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,017
The BIOS is most likely set to quiet boot and or display OEM boot up splash. You can still access the BIOS but you will need to know the Function key. A quick google tells me it is either F1 or F10.

While you are at that site I recommend you check out the latest BIOS as video issues are sometimes resolved via BIOS updates.

Once you are in the BIOS you will need to look for the video setting and see if you can switch it to BOTH (if possible).

You did not mention what bus the video cards are on. AGP, PCI, PCIE? That might have an impact on what you can do with them in the BIOS.
Jake is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 12:01 PM
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 41
It seems that one screen is on the on-board/on-CPU graphics processor, I would suggest that both screens are connected to the video card. In general BIOSses disable the on-board/on-CPU GPU when they detect a PCIe video card.
Ed7789 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-28, 01:04 PM
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 8,485
Here's the PDF for the specs on the PC:

Page 23 says you should use F10 to access the BIOS setup.

Page 33 says you should be able to use on-board and add-on graphics simultaneously.

Small Form Factor and Tower systems can support greater than two monitors with the addition of an optional PCI Express discrete graphics card. Both the integrated graphics and PCIe discrete graphics can be utilized simultaneously.
Dr.Dave is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome