Desktop Computer Buying Discussion - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-05, 03:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,051
@four, based on your feedback I've made the following changes. I've always had a mid-size tower and that's what I'm comfortable working with:

ASRock Z87 Extreme6/ac LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i5 4670 Quad Core 3.4GHZ Processor

Samsung 840 Evo Series MZ-7TE250BW 250GB 2.5in SATA III Internal SSD Single Unit Version
NeilN is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-05, 03:40 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
Looks reasonable.

What were you planning virtual machines for?
Running all the time? VMware or Hyper-V? What resources needed?

If you run them 24/7 and one CPU (core) each won't suffice - maybe you do need a i7?
Both, i5 and i7 have 4 real cores. But i7 supports hyper-threading what makes it 8.
four is offline  
post #78 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-05, 03:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,051
VMWare. Different test deployment environments so they always won't be running. My hardware guy suggested an i7 might be a better match for the SSD?
NeilN is online now  
 
post #79 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-05, 03:56 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
Never heard about that. Doubt it.
four is offline  
post #80 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-05, 06:21 PM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,329
@Sybok if you're looking for an off-the-shelf computer for basic web/email use, I'd recommend a cheap laptop, such as this Inspiron 15 currently on sale for $399. With an i3 processor and 6 GB RAM it has better specs than a similarly-priced desktop.
tux is offline  
post #81 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-06, 02:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,018
Processor won't matter for the SSD - as long as the motherboard supports SATA-iII (which any current board does) you'll get the most performance out of your drive

Sent using radio waves of some sort
BGY11 is online now  
post #82 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-06, 03:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,051
Thanks. Components have been ordered. Been interesting working this week from a Windows 7 VM hosted by my Macbook Air.
NeilN is online now  
post #83 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-06, 08:21 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
You can do it the other way, too (Mac VM on Windows).
If you pretend you didn't read the EULA (who does?)...
four is offline  
post #84 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-06, 10:03 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 46
VMware, Workstation or ESXi?

Because ESXi is real picky about hardware.
AsherN is offline  
post #85 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-07, 12:38 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
Any ESXi version between 4.0 and 5.1 (inclusive) is running on mainstream desktop hardware.
You won't get VMware supprt for Realtek ethernet (for example), but that is secondary...
four is offline  
post #86 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-07, 01:43 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by four View Post
You can do it the other way, too (Mac VM on Windows).
If you pretend you didn't read the EULA (who does?)...
Yeah, I'm running an older version of Fusion (3.1.4) on the Air. Supposedly I can take the VM and run it in VMware Workstation when the new PC arrives. That will be handy - still being productive while doing umpteen software installs on the host.
NeilN is online now  
post #87 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-07, 02:12 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink View Post
Just thought I would mention, I bought a Gateway desktop on sale at Future Shop. My 2004 HP (with lots of upgrades) just keeps humming along. I set up some weather software that I have had running 24/7 every Spring, Summer, Fall and I set up the Gateway to do it instead of old PC. Gateway has been down 3 times in 3 weeks with no apparent reason. Just shuts down. Today's garbage.
After updates a few months in the pc is now quite stable.
gzink is offline  
post #88 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-03-24, 03:20 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
while gaming kid's noticing limits with his 2xGTX560ti in SLI (single monitor 1920x1080) so looking to upgrade and he has around $400 to spend. Price point has us decided on GTX770 now trying to firm up on one.

Newegg is looking good for a MSI Gaming N770 TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 770 2GB. Reviews look good, but any reason to stay way from MSI products or Newegg?
das75 is offline  
post #89 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-11-23, 10:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: fraser valley
Posts: 156
Ive been shopping for an all-in-one to replace the very old dell in my kitchen. I want aio for the sake of saving space and simplicity of hookup and cable management. It is mostly for web stuff some very light gaming. kids are on it all the time.
I have cross shopped the crap out of future shop, best buy, newegg, tigerdirect and some others. i think its a harder decision now than before. budget is in the 7- 900 $ range. touch enabled is a must i think for the kids learning curve and they already know it from tabs and phones.
What i am thinking is maybe a touch monitor and small form factor pc , but monitors alone are kinda pricey.

any suggestions on a setup or where to build one ?
thx
cafebrad is offline  
post #90 of 93 (permalink) Old 2014-11-25, 09:17 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 990
There are many more factors that you need to share. First is screen size as helps to define budget. Next what models have you eliminated and what have you considered as a potential. This discussion is in the desktop section but you have suggested an all-in-one, so does this mean that a laptop is a consideration?

Other items are amount of memory and storage, but they are likely not a deal breakers.
Bplayer is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome