rasberrypi 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,270
rasberrypi 3

someone mentioned a rasberrypi3 just became available. happy owner of a rasberrypi2, so I googled it. sure enough...
Might take a little bit for 64bit distros to be compiled for it but just a matter of time.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/ras...-pi-3-on-sale/
  • A 1.2GHz 64-bit quad-core ARM Cortex-A53 CPU (~10x the performance of Raspberry Pi 1)
  • Integrated 802.11n wireless LAN and Bluetooth 4.1
  • Complete compatibility with Raspberry Pi 1 and 2

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 10:58 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,879
Red face 4th Birthday Present!

The Raspberry Pi 3 was released to coincide with the 4th birthday of their founding:
Quote:
Combining a 33% increase in clock speed with various architectural enhancements, this provides a 50-60% increase in performance in 32-bit mode versus Raspberry Pi 2, or roughly a factor of ten over the original Raspberry Pi.
Raspberry Pi celebrates fourth birthday with fruity version 3 ? The Register
stampeder is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-04-21, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,270
Does anyone here have a rasberrypi 2 or 3, that would like to try out an image a friend put together? Basically it is Raspbian with updatelee's v4l-updatelee v4l modules in it.
It comes with a Qt 5.6 development environment and his updateDVB application already built (with git tree to easily pull in any bug fixes and rebuild updateDVB from source). Supported devices can do a pseudo spectrum scan, etc. It's like a TSReader like app for linux with a spectrum analyser function and an iqplot function. Probably have seen me post some screenshots here & there...
Recently, the dvb api was adjusted so no longer is it necessary to compile other
dvb apps that don't use his added api functions. (ie like mythv, tvheadend, should be able to use your package manager, etc).
But you can compile from source if you wish. It's based on an older version from January, I just added the pi3 kernel support to that image
so I could use it on either the pi2 or pi3.

If you have a pi and a supported device and would like to try it out, let me know in pm,
and I will leave a link to it in pm...

for some supported devices see:
https://bitbucket.org/updatelee/updatedvb
Some others not listed there but I have tested and work fine are Hauppauge 955Q, Hauppauge Aero-M, inDtube. DVBSky S960 DVB-S2 USB (partially supported).

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
 
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-04-22, 08:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,264
I was going to buy one to run my openvpn server. But I cannot make it work. Also, I thought these pie's come with its own linux os. no?

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, i7-920@3.8Ghz
e268 is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-04-22, 01:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,838
The O/S is extra but Linux is basically free. Flash cards can be purchased that have the O/S installed. There are a number of Linux distributions available that are configured to run specialized applications. One such distribution is RaspBMC that runs Kodi (formerly XBMC.) From what I could find, it appears that v4l-updatelee is an application for use with tuners to scan for and receive satellite and ATSC TV signals.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The v4l-updatelee developer
# Tested with
#
# Prof 7301, 7500, 8000
# TBS 6925, 5922, 5925, 5980, 6908, 6903
# Skystar 2 eXpress HD
# Genpix Skywalker-1
# Hauppauge 950Q, 955Q, Aero-m
#
# Others are reported working as well, but havent personally tested them
ExDilbert is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-04-23, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,270
Actually, 'v4l-updatelee' is the entire linux kernel from 'linux-media' with modified v4l (dvb api) kernel modules that allow "user land" to use the extended functions which he added. updateDVB is his "user land" Qt based application to go along with it.

I just uploaded some more screenshots to the wiki page so ya can see it in action...

https://bitbucket.org/updatelee/upda...ki/Screenshots

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-13, 08:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,264
So I managed to configured openvpn on my desktop, and want to install it onto a raspberry pi so I can leave it on 24/7. Is this a viable way to run openvpn? Can the hardware last 24/7 for a long period like a router does? Since it is the only application, do I need pi 3 or pi 2 will do, assuming that pi 2 is cheaper.

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, i7-920@3.8Ghz
e268 is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-13, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,270
I would just buy a router that either already has openvpn on it, or one that can have
openWRT installed on it. I bought a linksys wrt1900AC for this.

I can access my home network from anywhere via vpn. Haven't had occasion to
to use vpn much, but it works pretty good.

I believe the pi2 would run the same as pi3. I use mine for streaming TV and TV signal analysis from the basement to anywhere.

DB4E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-13, 09:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,838
An RPi2 or RPi3 should last as long as a router. I find that routers become obsolete before they fail anyway. The hardware is different but not so much that it would affect reliability significantly. When it comes to the CPU, the RPi is more similar to a smartphone than a router.

Majortom is correct. It makes more sense to run OpenVPN on a router. Open source firmware (DD-WRT, OpenWRT) usually offers better OpenVPN support than stock firmware but some routers have OpenVPN as supplied. Just be aware that OpenVPN is fairly compute intensive and it requires a router with a fairly powerful CPU (aka expensive.) Even with open source firmware, some of the cheaper routers may not be capable of handling OpenVPN. Another option would be to use a PC running router software.

In the long run, using OpenVPN on a PC offers the most flexibility. It's also available for phones and tablets.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-13, 10:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,264
Thanks for the expert advice. Running it on my desktop saves a lot of expense. The only disadvantage is when I am on vacation and have to leave it on 24/7 for the duration of my vacation. In this case, I am concerned about the HDD's. Maybe I can disconnect them and use the ssd only (openvpn and linux is on ssd).

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, i7-920@3.8Ghz
e268 is offline  
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-13, 11:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,838
The HDDs can spin down or go to standby after a set time. This is configurable in the HDD firmware. It's fairly easy to do with Linux since the utility hdparm is included (Read the man page and use caution with hdparm since the wrong settings can brick the drive.) A Windows utility to do the same may be available from the drive manufacturer. Windows can handle it natively as well. Under Windows 7, the setting is under advanced power options / drive for each power plan. Setting parameters in the drive firmware is better since each drive can be set separately.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-14, 09:43 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,264
Thanks. Eventually I still want to buy Pi 3. It's cpu is more powerful than my laptop.
e268 is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-05-14, 01:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,838
I looked into using an RPi2 as a router. The CPU could handle it but the I/O is lacking. 10/100 ethernet and USB2 ethernet dongles limit its usefulness in that regard. (It could work for lower speed internet connections.) Even adding a decent 5GHz WiFi dongle requires an external powered USB hub. (2.4GHz dongles work fine without a hub.) A comparably priced *WRT compatible router would be a better choice.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-07-09, 11:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,396
Anyone have some good sources for buying RPi's in Canada? Previously I just bought from an Amazon vendor but wondering if someone has a better (reliable, fast delivery, competitive price) source that ships to Canada?

Sure I can do a google search but I've never heard of most of those companies and hence am looking for recommendations and good/bad experience with various vendors.
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 2016-07-09, 01:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,838
When I bought the Pi2, Amazon.ca had the best prices on the board and components. That still appears to be the case. Some of the vendors have their own site but the ones I checked had similar prices. Might have been able to save a couple of dollars here and there by buying some parts on eBay but shipping from China is slow and quality sometimes questionable. Buying from the US was more expensive due to shipping costs and exchange. A lot of the boards and parts are sold by third parties but shipped by Amazon. That means free shipping and easy returns.
ExDilbert is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome