Mulitple connections? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-11-26, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Mulitple connections?

Ok noob question alert...

but.. why do I need the RCA and video (yellow) connection between TV and receiver? In addition to the composite and digital optical audio?

I just bought Panasonic 750u plasma and Denon AVR-888 (which has one HDMI 1080P upconversion).

http://www.scientificatlanta.com/pro...D_HTS_HDTV.pdf
goatCURRY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-11-26, 09:52 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
why do I need the RCA and video (yellow) connection between TV and receiver?
You're asking this question about connecting an A/V receiver to your television but you are posting a schematic for a connection between your tv and cable set top box?

What are you trying to ask? and more importantly, what are you trying to accomplish?
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-11-26, 10:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 3,967
The schematic describes every possible combinations of connections...you certainly don't need them all. Read the manuals and choose the best connection you can given the gear you own.

Specifically, from the schemetic if you use the component leads to connect the TV and the AVR then you don't need that yellow lead.
otown47 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-11-26, 10:18 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
The diagramme shows all the possible connections. You do not need to use them. You only need one HD connection for video from the STB to the TV (or through the AVR) and one digital audio connection from the STB to the AVR. See:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17716

And: HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

In order to see the OSD on the TV from the AVR a composite connection is required on a lot of AVRs, some newer AVRs allow use of the OSD via component or HDMI, depending.

Echo Echo Echo.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-11-26, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks guys. I re-read my post and it is not clear. My bad. Your responses answered my question.
goatCURRY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome