Rogers Channel Discussion Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 121 (permalink) Old 2014-12-31, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,103
Rogers Channel Discussion Thread

This thread will be for rumours, channel deletions and complaining about any channel not offered by Rogers Ontario.

Actual confirmed new channel announcements and channel deletions will now have their own thread.

Rogers Official Channel Announcement Thread

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-03-02, 06:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
beIN Sports Spanish

I stumbled on beIN Sports Espanol on channel 392 yesterday. As usual, the morons at Rogers made no announcement so we viewers have to find it by accident.

Brilliant to unscramble the Spanish channel, but not the English channel.

Last edited by 57; 2015-03-02 at 09:54 AM. Reason: Moved to appropriate thread
TinyTim is offline  
post #3 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-03-02, 07:46 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,295
It's been available for months now, in Spanish.
thenewdc is online now  
 
post #4 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-04-30, 01:20 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
Action HD is now available on Rogers, but only on channel 15.
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #5 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-01, 08:57 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
New HD Channels:
Action HD --- 82
H2 HD --- 280
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #6 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-01, 09:06 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,295
How about CMT HD?
thenewdc is online now  
post #7 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-01, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
Those are the only new channels from what I can see on my system.
ryandude_12345 is offline  
post #8 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-17, 12:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 446
Is TLN in SD available on an HD box?

TLN loves to stretch SD content on their HD channel but I can't stand watching it that way. When SD episodes of Everybody Loves Raymond are on, I tried searching for the SD version (to avoid the stretching) with my HD box. The lower numbered version autoconverts to HD for me. I couldn't find an non stretched version anywhere. Anyone have a suggestion?

Rogers Employee. My posts should not be considered as coming from an authorized corporate source.
snorlax is offline  
post #9 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-17, 12:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Try Dejaview 293 tomorrow. SD only. They have an all day marathon of Everybody loves Raymond.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #10 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-17, 01:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorlax View Post
Anyone have a suggestion?
There used to be both the SD and HD versions ... but now I only find 3 HD versions, and no SD. The stretch-o-vision is unbearable to watch, I've no idea why they'd do that - no one else does.
nfitz is offline  
post #11 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-26, 09:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 446
TBS, TNT, A&E TLC and a few others stretch as well. The spin phrase was "to give our viewers a consistent widescreen experience". Give me a break...If Rogers would offer an SD version for viewers with an HD box I could live with this but Rogers is trying to save bandwidth and the thinking is why would an HD viewer ever want to watch something that is available in HD in SD. Well this is the reason....

Rogers Employee. My posts should not be considered as coming from an authorized corporate source.
snorlax is offline  
post #12 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-26, 10:44 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Regional Municipality of Durham
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorlax View Post
TLN loves to stretch SD content on their HD channel but I can't stand watching it that way. When SD episodes of Everybody Loves Raymond are on, I tried searching for the SD version (to avoid the stretching) with my HD box. The lower numbered version autoconverts to HD for me. I couldn't find an non stretched version anywhere. Anyone have a suggestion?
Hi Snorlax,

If you are in Toronto, try:
Channel 782 - Telelatino East (SD)
or
Channel 783 - Telelatino West (SD)

Both should be SD 480i 4:3 feed.

If you try channel 35, you get the AutoHD feed unfortunately. Which is what you are experiencing.
Paolo is offline  
post #13 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-26, 01:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 446
Unfortunately, channel 782 is TLNHD East for me. 783 is SD. Yes I am in Toronto. (Thornhill, actually but at work in Toronto our HD box there does the same thing.
snorlax is offline  
post #14 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-27, 10:49 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Regional Municipality of Durham
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorlax View Post
Unfortunately, channel 782 is TLNHD East for me. 783 is SD. Yes I am in Toronto. (Thornhill, actually but at work in Toronto our HD box there does the same thing.
Glad to hear it finally worked out for you. My parents usually watch the auto HD feed of TLN, but one day I go to visit I will punch in 783 and try the SD feed for a day and see how it is, hopefully it wont have the stretch-o-vision.
Paolo is offline  
post #15 of 121 (permalink) Old 2015-05-28, 01:21 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,470
783 is west. It's not the same programming, being on a 3-hour delay.

You can't watch TLN without stretch-o-vision on the primary feed.
nfitz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome