Rogers Analogue to Digital Migration - Read Post 1 - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-17, 09:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kanata
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3repair View Post
I was just wondering as to if those digital adapters have a diagnostic menu so you can check its signal strength. Just wanting to clarify if it does exist or not or if cisco put the functionality in. Thanks!
Hold down the "INFO" button for several seconds until the diagnostics menu appears.
Analogue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-17, 09:57 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 545
is it possible to get a picture of the menu so we can share it with other members who may need the information, please and thank you! (if possible)
m3repair is offline  
post #153 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-30, 12:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
digital adapter - how does it work?

Hi,

Is the rogers digital adapter just a stripped down "DVR"? Does it actually decrypt the signal or does it just convert digital to analog?
and does it has to be activated like the "Digital Box"?

thx
gepeto
nilzor is offline  
 
post #154 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-30, 12:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,443
Given that the digital channels are encrypted, it has to decrypt them. Then it has to convert the signal to analog. A PVR and regular STB can also pass the full digital signal to the TV. The main market for the digital adapters are those who watch the analog channels on analog TVs. When the analog channels are dropped they'd otherwise lose service. If you have a HDTV, you're better off with a regular STB or PVR that can provide HDTV viewing.
JamesK is online now  
post #155 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-30, 02:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
do those adapters need to be activated? and can they be moved?
nilzor is offline  
post #156 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-30, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,249
nilzor: Your post was moved to this existing thread. Please read post 1 and the links there, as well as other posts in this thread. The adaptor needs to be activated, it decrypts the signals for the channels that were analogue and it can be moved inside your home.


Here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #157 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-30, 06:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6
Cisco DTA50

I have recently got one of those DTA50 adapters and tried it out. I was appalled to discover that there is no way to program it to skip unwanted channels. An earlier post confirmed that the device has no setup menu. Considering all the channels in foreign languages and "junk" channels, how can anyone use this to watch TV? Or is this Rogers way to encourage me to subscribe up?
etc46 is offline  
post #158 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-05-30, 07:59 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 401
Not really sure what you expect when there is no charge for the DTA50! It is a simple device that will convert digital to analog so that you can continue to view the same channels you had without the DTA50. I have the 8300 HD box and even with that you cannot skip unwanted channels.
Hooter is offline  
post #159 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,249
The following notice was part of my Rogers bill today. Just as an FYI:

Quote:
IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT OUR CABLE TV NETWORK ENHANCEMENT TO DIGITAL & CHANNEL CHANGES

Our Cable TV network enhancement from analog to digital is underway. If you have already ordered and connected your Digital Adapter(s) then no further action is required. If you still need to order, kindly visit rogers.com/digital adapter for details or call us at 1-800-530-4034. If you do not order and connect your Digital Adapter(s) before May 28,2012, then the following channel changes will apply to TVs connected directly to cable outlets without a Digital Adapter:

The Shopping Channel is moving to ch.95 (currently on ch.19); Vision TV is moving to ch.96 (currently on ch.60); PBS Buffalo will only be available on ch.15, no longer available on ch.61 (currently on ch.15 & 61); CTV News is moving to ch.70 (currently on ch. 62); Treehouse is moving to ch. 19 (currently on ch.64); APTN is moving to ch.129 (currently on ch. 70) and TVA is moving to ch.130 (currently on ch.95). RDI (currently on ch.96), Ontario Legislature (currently on ch.129) and TV5 (currently on ch.130) will no longer be available to you on analog. All other aspects of your Rogers service(s) will remain the same.
Areas outside the GTA may have slightly different changes.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #160 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 12:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,725
So what range of channels are being cleared out by this. Looks as if 60-69 and 75-125?

57, this is Metro-Toronto right?

CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is online now  
post #161 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,249
I believe that most channels over channel 28 are affected by the analogue to digital switch, as discussed in post 1 of this thread, and many times in this thread. The "notice" I provided seems to be more about "movement" of channels and minor changes on May 28th. Most channels above 28 should be "gone" by the end of the year (post 1).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #162 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 01:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,725
Ya, I was just talking about the immediate term. I agree, 28+ is gone at the end of the year.

CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is online now  
post #163 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 04:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,814
Question

I'll bet you anything that APTN will have an issue going from 70 to 129. Just watch I'll bet you anything there'll be a big stink about that chsannel move.
MCIBUS is online now  
post #164 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 04:23 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto - Davisville Subway
Posts: 1,020
Yes, meanwhile, shop tv canada (Toronto star TV), a totally useless informational channel continues to enjoy a prime spot on channel 21 in the GTA.
wysiwyg is online now  
post #165 of 493 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 01:47 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 178
Some minor differences between 57's update and the Markham note:
CTV News moves from 62 to 70 not 17

Not mentioned: ShopTV 17->59, MMM 64->70, BBN 66->60
ericball is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome