Can I buy HD PVR for regular (non-HDTV) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-05, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: tbd
Posts: 933
Can I buy HD PVR for regular (non-HDTV)

I was thinging of buying a Rogers PVR HD PVR for my parents. They just have regular TV but would like PVR capabilities. As rogers does not have regular PVR's anymore, would the HD PVRR work with regular tvs?

Rogers 2PVR's, four digital terminals.
All DigNet pack, TMN,, Playboy, Hustler, TEN Network, Howard Stern and Sports Pak Sub. 2 subs Sirius,1 sub XM.
dmccorm140 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-05, 05:02 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,322
Sure would. You can connect it via S-video, composite video or RF-coax (best to worst video quality). Analogue audio cables (red/white) are requried for the first two options if they use the TV speakers.

They will even be able to see the HD channels they qualify for, downconverted to 480i for those SD connections and in 16:9 when HD. If they have an AVR, they can also get DD5.1 from the HD channels...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-05, 06:07 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,488
Yes, you can connect a HD PVR or converter to a SD TV. I have done that, with via S-Video cable and currently I have my VCR connected to the composite output. Both methods work fine. You can even use component cables, if your TV supports that. As mentioned in the note above, you can also watch the HD only channels that way, which you couldn't do with a SD converter.
JamesK is online now  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-05, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: tbd
Posts: 933
Thank you for the information!

Rogers 2PVR's, four digital terminals.
All DigNet pack, TMN,, Playboy, Hustler, TEN Network, Howard Stern and Sports Pak Sub. 2 subs Sirius,1 sub XM.
dmccorm140 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-12-05, 11:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
I've owned a Explorer 3250 HD for a year and a half despite owning a SD TV for the added HD channels you get (I put up w/ the "black bars"). While I'd never buy into that over-priced HD PVR (antiquated, but so is every Rogers STB using this lousy UI), it makes sense to "future-proof" one's self.
windows7 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome