Getting free cable can i buy a rogers hd box and get the free hd channels? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-20, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Getting free cable can i buy a rogers hd box and get the free hd channels?

i have free cable right now if i get a hd rogers box used one can i get the free hd channels they offer??
sheppdogg2009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-20, 09:01 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
How do you get free cable? If it's included in some sort of rental of a unit, that's great.

Free HD, though? Both yes and no. There's about 16 free HD stations available (OTA US networks on either the eastcoast or the westcoast and Canadian networks). You'll get some CBC Newsworkd, SportsNet, Golf, Speed, CNN and TLC HD, etc. But you have to pay for an HD package if you want A&E, Showcase, HDNet, etc. There's also a seperate Treasure, Oasis, Equator and Rush HD package. Also, you have to already receive TMN/Moviepix/HBO Canada to get their HD. If you get them free already, then an HD receiver will get you that. Otherwise, you have pay for a SD paytv movie package to get the HD versions.

http://www.rogers.com/web/Rogers.por...el=HDTVLanding
windows7 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-20, 09:17 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,718
If you are, as I read it, stealing cable then that is illegal and not appropriate for this forum.

HD channels are digital, in order to get digital cable you must register the box with Rogers.
TorontoColin is online now  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-21, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
not stealing

have rented a room and they have cable can get a box but just wanted to know if i plug in the hd cable box will i get hd or do i need to order something
sheppdogg2009 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-21, 12:43 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
yeah

someone was gonna sell me a hd pvr for 150 bucks so if i buy it i need to activate it huh that sucks lol
sheppdogg2009 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-21, 01:50 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,429
This thread is now discussing account splitting which is illegal. Thread is closed. For the information of the OP, Rogers will only activate STBs purchased from them, from authorized distributors or from Rogers customers in good standing. In order to activate this STB you must be paying for cable.

"Outside" SA/Cisco STBs work on Rogers (or Videotron)? (No!) See Post 1

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome