switching to Rogers - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
switching to Rogers

I am switching in 1 month to Rogers cable VIP bundle. I have been using Bell EXpress Vu. Not really unhappy with it just the channel selection screws up my wife and she wants TBC.
When I called to arrange the changeover I was told I could get analog or the digital box service - roughly the same cost.
I don't need HD.
I have the house wired for multiple cable outlets and wondered whether the digital box option required that each TV have its own box and hence more cost per month?
I would like to hear from you about your recommendation.

Thanks you,
BH Markham, Ontario
hpuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
Quote:
I have the house wired for multiple cable outlets and wondered whether the digital box option required that each TV have its own box and hence more cost per month?
If you want the digital channels available on every TV, then yes, you would need multiple boxes.

But you could just get one digital box for the primary set, and use analog cable for the rest.

For what it's worth, on a standard-def set, with a strong, clean signal, I think analog cable actually looks superior to digital.
worth is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 04:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,113
Quote:
I think analog cable actually looks superior to digital.
That's the first time I have ever heard that.
Quote:
each TV have its own box and hence more cost per month
I think with VIP it only cost for the box and like bell only a monthly fee if you rent. I also think you can trade your receivers.
haystack is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 05:40 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 230
VIP is Digital only.. you can't have it without a box.

The price (64.97 as of March 1) includes in that price: 1 SD box and the Digital Services fee (savings of 7.48$ per month).. also up to 4 extraOutlets at no charge (6.99$ savings per month)
rRep is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 05:51 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,323
Quote:
VIP is Digital only.. you can't have it without a box.
Clarification - you get a free STB with Digital VIP that can be used on one TV, then, as mentioned previously, the other TVs can still tune all the analogue channels that are "authorized" as part of digital VIP. It's not necessary to have a STB on each TV, unless you want the digital channels on those TVs and you can purchase the STBs for under $100 if you want.

http://your.rogers.com/store/cable/p...nnelLineup.asp Channel Lineups

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks for all of the feedback - one more question.
I have a PVR recorder with Bell and was told I could either rent one from Rogers or buy one.
Is there a secondary market and I am guessing I would need the digital box to use the Rogers PVR service.

I had actually hoped that Rogers would offer some kind of inducement to switch to them, but I get the feeling it happens all the time.

Bill
hpuck is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-20, 11:35 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,323
1. Rogers often does have a "ditch the dish" programme. Ask about it and you may get a free PVR for some time period, along with other inducements like free channels.

2. The PVR is a dual tuner integrated unit - no need for a STB. It's the Model SA8300HD.

You need to purchase this from Rogers or an authorized distributor - much less expensive than renting if you don't get the inducement mentioned above.

Please browse through the Rogers forum and the SA8300HD forum for additional information since these sorts of questions are asked a lot.

Please also see the following post, useful for those new to the forum - FAQs and Search Tips:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-02-23, 08:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 159
they can only offer you a free PVR when switching if you are trading in bell equipment.
boink is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome