Stretched Image - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-19, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Stretched Image

I know there are probably a lot of threads about this... but i can't find the proper one. I have a Rogers HD Digital Cable box and my image is being broadcasted in 1080i but it is clearly stretched. I used to be able to change it from "normal" to "stretched"... but i cant find where to do that. Does anyone know how to fix this?
zack8901 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-19, 05:48 PM
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,587
1. Press the # button repeatedly on the Rogers remote.

2. Press the settings button on the Rogers Remote, scroll up to the stretch modes.

3. Press the appropriate button on your TV's remote for stretching.

See the following post on tips for SA STBs:

57 FAQ - Tips For SA (Cisco) STBs. (also Pace)

And the following post, useful for those new to the forum - FAQS and search tips.

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

There should be no reason to use the STB stretch button - it's a horrible stretch. What's the make/model of your TV?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-21, 01:27 AM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 45
I don't know if this is the source of your problem but a program may appear stretched depending on the content that the channel is broadcasting. Some programs aren't transmitted in true 720p or 1080i HD so they employ a method called stretch-o-vision which Wikipedia defines as, "the practice of video in the 4:3 aspect ratio being stretched to a widescreen aspect ratio such as 16:9 in various ways, causing a distorted picture."
NR4250 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-21, 07:57 AM
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Carling, Ontario
Posts: 815
A&E HD uses stretch-o-vision quite often. It is usually quite painful to watch and there isn't much you can do about it.
scampbell is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-02-01, 08:36 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,813
I was going to say that A&E employs this practice....

They're esentially trying to fool you into thinking their standard definition programming is in fact HD.
Jase88 is online now  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome