Replace Broken Shaw Remote - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-10-31, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
Replace Broken Shaw Remote

Hello, I'm here with a question, and i hope it can get answered!

I have a old Shaw digital cable box. Really old, i believe it was purchased for $299 in July 99. Now its Nov 07, and the remote is finally dead (cursors dont push in anymore, broke off).

Is it worth it to get a universal remote ($20), or a new Shaw box for $55? Is the new box any faster, or better picture than my old one? I believe my old one is a DCT 2500, and i am wondering about the new "small" DCT 2000
talldude123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-10-31, 11:51 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,306
DCT 2000 are from about 1999, while the DCT 2500 didn't show up until 2004.

You may be able to trade trhe remote in at your local shaw office for free.

You will gain little by trading in your box. I have both the 2000 and a 2500. You get a small picture in the corner of the program you are watching (like a PIP) while using the guide. Also you have a bit more room for guide data.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-10-31, 11:52 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
Shaw will usually replace the remote if they still have it or similar in stock. See:

Replacement remote from shaw?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 07:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
Really appreciate the replies fellas!

So there is a difference between the boxes? Becuase right now, the box does lag quite a bit while looking through the guides, and i assume the new boxes have a different remote right? I have the previous gen remote right now.
talldude123 is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
Another thing; will Shaw "trade" the boxes for free?
talldude123 is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 12:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
Shaw may trade a remote for free but the warranty on the remote matches the warranty on the DCT. So if the DCT is not under warranty the rep shouldn't be swapping it for free. Give it a try though. If they don't swap it you can always just buy a new Shaw remote for $14.95. Normal price for anyone wanting one. Subject to stock of course

Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
Still; $15 for a remote. I guess it's better off buying a box all together for $55.

Just a little vent; I can't stand that you can't program a universal remote (RCA, Philips, etc) to work with Motorola DCT 2000.
talldude123 is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 03:41 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
Did you try the codes for General Instruments, or perhaps try scanning all the codes available to the remote - there are usually instructions in the remotes on how to do this.

Also, conversely, the Motorola Remotes (newer ones) are capable of controlling the basic functions of many devices like TVs, VCRs, AVRs, etc.

Most TV remotes are pretty useless in this regard since they don't usually do STBs.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
My box isn't a "General Instruments". I have one in 1998 that was GI, and then in 1999 i switched to Motorola due to issues (freezing up with menus).

I believe i found one remote that did work, back in 2002, but those universal remotes only really last 1 year.
talldude123 is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-01, 04:37 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
If you check your SN on the box, you SHOULD see it starts with GI indicating it is General Instruments
Quantum Tarantino is offline  
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-02, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
checked the bottom of the box, said "DCT 2224". No manufacture date, suprisingly...thought they would have one. I just know its a very old box, since I used to have the GI that you were talking about.

I'll contact Shaw today about a new remote or box; whatever is better. Would be nice to have an extra spare box around the house, even if it has a crappy remote.
talldude123 is offline  
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-02, 06:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC. Shaw Cable, 42" Samsung DLP, 6416 w/expander & DCX3400
Posts: 1,900
tall just check the serial # on the bottom of the DCT about 3/4 of the way back on a bar code sticker. It should start with GI as Quantum mention if it was made by General Instruments. Motorola started making the DCTs in 2004 and 4 I believe. If you want to know the year it was made it's on the same sticker. gi####ab####. The 2nd # indicates the year it was made. If it starts with M then the 2nd and 3rd number indicate the year. Hope that helps

Designated Shaw Employee representative for Cable & Digital Cable for Digital Home Forums.
Shaw Guru is offline  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-02, 07:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 135
The box says "DCT 2224" and the front of the box says Motorola. This box was defenitely from around 2000ish. I do remember having a GI box; it was defective though.
talldude123 is offline  
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-04, 12:12 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Just to throw my 2 cents in, the cost of a replacement remote is actually $25, not $14.95 as previously stated.

We recently had an internal email sent to all CSRs as a reminder as people were being given the incorrect price over the phone and then getting upset when they went into retail to purchase them and found the remotes to be $25.
Cawdor is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 2007-11-04, 12:46 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winnipeg with MTS Ultimate TV, MTS Lightning 25 & VOIP Phone Service.
Posts: 3,296
Really..... well then - cause I just called yesterday and they said $14.95 - so your saying when I go in it will be $25....perhaps I will find one elsewhere now.

Thanks
Shawguy

- User 'K from Canada' on the MTS Community Forums
- User '7825' on the Shaw Community Forums
- I do NOT work for Shaw or have any connections to the company
shawguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome