CBS flicker - KIRO 7 Seattle - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ExDilbert
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-04-23, 12:26 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,690
CBS flicker - KIRO 7 Seattle

For over a week Shaw cable, gateway, interior BC, CBS has a 'flicker' sometimes every minute, sometimes 30 minutes. No other channel just 201.
Anyone else?
gzink is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-04-23, 09:33 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,088
Is that KREM2? Not noticing anything right now here in Calgary on BlueSky, but I've only watched for about 5 minutes this morning.

Edit - from later posts it sounds like KIRO - we get the Spokane station on BlueSky at least in Calgary

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Last edited by BGY11; 2018-04-23 at 10:48 AM.
BGY11 is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-04-23, 09:41 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,434
It may KIRO 7 Seattle as there seems to be a similar issue reported to the Shaw Direct Satellite thread.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-04-23, 10:09 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,299
Watching in Windsor, ON on Cogeco and it is happening here too. When I rewind and play it in slow motion, you can see the picture get squeezed to 4:3 for a very brief moment. It seems to happen every 2 minutes or so.

Cogeco - Basic + Mix 30 + Timeshifting, TiVo & 3 Minis, UltraFibre 120, Select Phone, Xbox360, Wii, iPad2 & LG G4
denben73 is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-04-24, 02:41 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 1,690
Kiro 7. Squeezed to 4:3 seems right now that you have mentioned it. I guess we are not alone in this. Good to know.
gzink is online now  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-04-24, 12:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 6,595
KIRO-DT has always been a problem station. I've seen similar issues on 3 different BDUs. These days, I frequently see dropouts. In the past I've seen incorrect audio encoding, dropouts and loss of signal. Most stations had legacy SD feeds place in case the HD feed fails. I would guess that some still do. Switching to SD, even on an intermittent basis, may be automatic. It sounds like KIRO's HD feed to at least one of its transmitters is failing or has failed.
RuralRouter likes this.
ExDilbert is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome