Shaw Customer Service - good and bad - post comments here - Page 58 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #856 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-11, 06:31 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,308
Here's a hint... I you call and aren't given a callback option- the wait is NOT worthwhile.

Sign up for Shaw Friends and use their Concierge online Chat. Your wait will be less than 5 minutes in most cases.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #857 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-11, 09:11 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 248
@Jetranger: I'm sorry to hear about the multiple poor experiences with our phone representatives. We recently introduced some new Internet packages, which are separate from the 'existing' High Speed Lite/High Speed/Extreme packages. These separate tiers of service may have generated some confusion. I have outlined the packaging below.

Existing Packages:

High Speed Lite: $39 Stand-Alone, $29 Bundled
High Speed: $52 Stand-Alone, $42 Bundled
Extreme: $62 Stand-Alone, $52 Bundled
Broadband 50: $74.90 Stand-Alone, $59 Bundled - Moved to New Packaging (below)

New Packages:

High Speed 10: $45.00 (stand-alone or bundled)
High Speed 20: $55.00 (stand-alone or bundled)
Broadband 50: $65.00 Stand-Alone, $59 Bundled

All of the 'existing' and new Internet packages are available. We continue to use the $59 bundled price for Broadband 50, as it is cheaper, but the stand-alone price has been lowered. The exact '$10.00 discount' for each additional service is not used for the new packages, as they are mainly designed to be bundled in SPP. However, they are available as stand-alone services, or with our legacy cable packaging, but the bundle discount amounts are different.

I am a Shaw Employee. However, I am not posting on behalf of Shaw, and my posts are not official statements.
mungar is offline  
post #858 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-11, 11:23 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 60
Quote:
New Packages:

High Speed 10: $45.00 (stand-alone or bundled)
High Speed 20: $55.00 (stand-alone or bundled)
Broadband 50: $65.00 Stand-Alone, $59 Bundled
It's no wonder that confusion reigns supreme. They have managed to make their billing system more complicated than string theory.

When you go to the Shaw site and plug into the personalizer it says High Speed 10 is $34 bundled not $45, High Speed 20 is $49 not $55, broadband 50 is the same.

I hope that one of the perks Shaw CSR's get is unlimited Tylenol because their head has to hurt after a day of trying to make sense of this all.
stanl is offline  
post #859 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-11, 11:41 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 248
Sorry about the confusion. The prices I listed were to assist Jetranger, as it sounds like he is on 'legacy' packaging. Those prices listed are when adding to legacy accounts, and they will be different when arranged into Shaw Plan Personalizer bundles.

I am a Shaw Employee. However, I am not posting on behalf of Shaw, and my posts are not official statements.
mungar is offline  
post #860 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-12, 01:27 AM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,180
@stanl

Oh, that's just scratching the surface of their billing. Those are the prices for standalone internet, and internet bundled with another service (except SPP). If you take into account the Shaw Personalizer Plan (SPP), it becomes (in order of speed):

HSI Lite: $39 standalone, $29 bundled, $38.95 with SPP
HSI 7.5: $52 standalone, $42 bundled, $48.95 with SPP
HS10: $45 standalone, $45 bundled, $33.95 with SPP
HS20: $55 standalone, $55 bundled, $48.95 with SPP
Extreme: $62 standalone, $52 bundled, $58.95 with SPP
BB50: $65 standalone, $59 bundled, $58.95 with SPP

"Bundled" pricing here refers to internet with anything except the Shaw Personalizer Plan (SPP). The "with SPP" pricing applies if you have the Shaw Personalizer Plan.

And that's just the easy part. I could really make your head spin trying to figure out their billing if I brought up modem discounts, "Bump-Up" plans, grandfathered pricing, individual tier pricing, and pick-and-pay channel bundles. But that would be going too far off topic for this thread, so I won't digress any further.
tux is online now  
post #861 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-12, 02:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Thanks for trying to clear it up, mungar, but I just don't get how it can be so complicated. The published info makes no sense, as tux shows. The worst example is this:
Quote:
HSI 7.5: $52 standalone, $42 bundled, $48.95 with SPP
HS10: $45 standalone, $45 bundled, $33.95 with SPP
HS10 has 'more for less', then 'more for more' and finally 'more for less' again. I guess I shouldn't blame the customer service folks for not understanding it either when it makes no sense at all.

I thought the math was simple but clearly normal addition and subtraction is not what Shaw is going with. The poor customer service folks must hate trying to answer questions about this. I figure this is why they all say the same thing. It sounds like a well rehearsed line that was formulated to sound just enough like they know what they are doing but you don't so you say 'OK' and then hang up, being left with a feeling like you just had a sucker pulled out of your mouth.

My real problem goes back to the first CSR who was first rude with me and then had the nerve to hang up. Unfortunately, there is no way I can find out who it was because I'm sure she would get some 'coaching' at the very least and, more to my liking, she would be fired for not presenting the corporate values.

Oh, and here's one more thing I find really offensive: when pressed on the issue of 'why is it $59 and not $55', they say 'but you will need a different modem to get BB50 so what if I offered you a free lifetime rental?' Do they honestly think I didn't read that a 'free modem rental' is included with that service? I mean, really, if that isn't false advertising or at the very least a blatant attempt to make you think you are getting a 'deal', I don't know what is.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #862 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-12, 02:13 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 60
I think they are trying to make it confusing enough that we will just give up and sign up for the "ultimate plan."

The ultimate plan will be we hand them our wallets, they take out what they want, and hand us back what is left.
stanl is offline  
post #863 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-12, 02:33 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Ya, the empty wallet. The really sad thing is; I have a better understanding of sting theory than I do of how Shaw bills all my services each month.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #864 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-12, 05:13 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 248
High-Speed (7.5) and Extreme are no longer going to be used in the Shaw Plan Personalizer and new 'Simple Bundles' going forward.

For new people signing up with SPP, High Speed 10 is replacing High Speed Lite, and High Speed 20 is replacing the old High-Speed (7.5). Extreme and Broadband 50 had been the same price on SPP, so Broadband 50 is just replacing Extreme. Existing SPP customers are free to change to any of these new Internet packages as well. We are just starting to transition to these new Internet packages, so there may be some communication issues, and we are sorry for all the confusion.

The new base prices in SPP bundles are now:
Personal TV + High Speed 10: $59.90
Personal TV + High Speed 20: $74.90
Personal TV + Broadband 50: $84.90

I am a Shaw Employee. However, I am not posting on behalf of Shaw, and my posts are not official statements.
mungar is offline  
post #865 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-12, 05:25 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sry/Cloverdale, BC Epson 8350 & 110" Screen... Shaw Gateway & 5 Portals... PS-3 & Harmony One
Posts: 265
Smile

I had my appointment for 2 additional portals today (AM).

The tech arrived at 10:30, and while his order did not show he had to run an additional cable, he ran the cable and hooked up the portals, set them up (including remotes).

The order confirmed he needed to remove a filter which I understood had been put on when I changed my TV Package the last time. When we went to the "Line Room" (Townhouse), it was quite funny because even though they had sent a tech when I made the change, there had been no filter installed. He came specifically to put on the filter... The tech seemed not to be surprised, telling me they didn't really need the filters as they (tiers 1,2 &3) would be irrelevant once the digital conversion is complete. The only filter he expected they would use would be the video filter for subscribers who only have phone and or internet with no TV.

Anyway, a pleasant install, all the updates were done before he left - and all is working just peachy!

I then went on the concierge chat to have them do the updates on the services I receive, which were not done earlier so as not to lose my install date, got through in less than 5 minutes, and for some reason my account was not accessible. I wanted to add Discovery World to my order... The agent said he would put it in as soon as he could access my account.

Will report back when the update is done to my programming package to confirm they put in the Personal TV, Best of HD and Oasis, HDNet and Discovery World HD...

So far so good...

I like being retired, it gives me lots of time to make trouble...
roopster77 is offline  
post #866 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-13, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sry/Cloverdale, BC Epson 8350 & 110" Screen... Shaw Gateway & 5 Portals... PS-3 & Harmony One
Posts: 265
^^^ It appears they have not done the channel update (no Oasis) I have seen they have fiddled with my bill though...

I like being retired, it gives me lots of time to make trouble...
roopster77 is offline  
post #867 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-15, 02:07 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sry/Cloverdale, BC Epson 8350 & 110" Screen... Shaw Gateway & 5 Portals... PS-3 & Harmony One
Posts: 265
^^^^ it took another day, but Oasis finally appeared... all is good now... fingers crossed

I like being retired, it gives me lots of time to make trouble...
roopster77 is offline  
post #868 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-17, 04:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 50
Great CS

Took a chance (saw a snowflake outside) & phoned Shaw instead of driving to the local office to make some changes to my TV service today. Made the call at 1:06 pm, was answered at 1:11pm, changes made & call completed at 1:14pm. Pretty darn good service IMHO, Cheers.
Bugsy is offline  
post #869 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-18, 03:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 16
I've been watching the boards here for a while....this is my week with Shaw.
We've been considering Personalizing our Shaw packaging - getting upgraded internet and the phone option.
A well-meaning Shaw rep comes on here and tells me that they can give me a 6 month break on the 20-dollar Best of HD part of my TV. I'm ready to confirm, and ask him to check....now he says that I'm in Ontario, and that doesn't apply - the best he can do is a 3 month break on the 15-dollar phone. So I go from saving 120 dollars....to 45.
Then my PVR breaks on Sunday....I wait for 90 minutes for a call back, only to find the guy can't come til Wednesday. I whine a bit, and they said "maybe Tuesday". The guy comes Tuesday, and fiddles a bit, and then plugs in another PVR, which also doesn't work. He tells me my new Panasonic is kaffed...to which I say it works playing DVDs and my computer. Turns out the second PVR was ALSO kaffed. Now he's on his third choice...which works, praise Jebus. Great...he leaves. I come home from work, turn on the Tv, and find out we have 5 working channels...the rest are "unauthorized". I have to call again, and wait another hour before a rep comes on and flashes my PVR so I can have the correct package.
Whew...sorry for the rant. All in all, everything worked out...but what a rigamarole. ANd the best they can do is 45 bucks?
fastball59 is offline  
post #870 of 941 (permalink) Old 2012-01-18, 05:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BC
Posts: 175
I strongly recommend signing up for Shaw Friends and using Concierge Chat from secure.shaw.ca for everything except maybe Internet problems

The last few times I've used it, I've been speaking to someone within a couple minutes, and once didn't even see the "please wait" screen.
JasonB is offline  
Reply

Tags
bill , customer service

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome