Trying to find a cable splitter - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Trying to find a cable splitter

Hi all,

I'm trying to split the cable going into my internet modem so I can use it for a TV also. I saw this splitter at Home Depot and I'm wondering if it works well? IDEAL 2 Way Digital Cable TV Splitter (Model: 85-132 | Internet/Cat: 941322 | Store SKU: 1000449513) $3.98

thanks!
Positive Climb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 07:00 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
Shaw provides free splitters - go to one of their outlets and they'll supply the proper one - 5-1000MHz minimum and two way. With a modem you should not have a splitter on that line as the modem should be the first split coming into your home. You might get away with it, but then again you might have problems. Call Shaw and have them do it properly.

That splitter you mention is NOT recommended.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 09:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,612
^^^^
I have 2 splitters on my cable modem line. A 2 way in the living room where my main TV is and a 3 way in my "office", where I've got my cable modem, phone terminal and another TV (actually computer monitor) connection. All splitters and cables were installed by Rogers and everything leading to the cable modem has a red tag on it. I also have a 2nd feed in my bedroom, which serves only a TV.
JamesK is online now  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-02-20, 11:40 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
When the service provider does the installation they have special splitters that they can use that have specific losses per side/leg of the splitter. As stated, get Shaw to do this for you - they'll use the correct equipment and check the signals.

JamesK, what works for you may not work for someone else.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome