remove channels from guide - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 2009-12-30, 10:52 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Exclamation remove channels from guide

just wondering if theres anyway to remove individual channels from the tv guild that comes up on my pace summit digitlal box , theres alot of porn channels here with bad bad words and names oif the shows showing up , i know i can set locks up or user ratings but then it moves all channels that are adult shows to , is there any way to remove individual channels from showing up ?
EXTREME25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 2009-12-30, 01:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 73
I'm not sure if there's a way to not view them by default. However, you may be able to set up a list. It'll prevent the channels from showing up. I haven't played with the parental lock features of the box, but you may be able to force it to always view only the list.

To start setting up a list, hit Info twice. Go over to the heart, and begin to set up the channels you want to view. This is great for screening the channels you don't subscribe to.

To view the list, when viewing the guide, hit the FAV button.
XBrav is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 2009-12-30, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 248
If you're just looking to block the titles from showing up, you can go into parental control setup and choose 'hide titles' for any programming rated 'Adult'. Instead of the title it will simply say 'Adult Programming'. The only programs rated adult are pornographic PPV films, so it will not affect regular shows with MA ratings.
mungar is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-08, 09:53 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,104
Why would you remove the channels from your guild? Did they not pass some sort of required trades exam or inspection?
Mozza is online now  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-08, 11:06 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,318
LMAO, some people really need to learn how to spell and stop relying on spell checker!
vjose78 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-11, 01:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
I would like to do this also so I can get rid of the channels i am not subscribed too
koldad is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-11, 07:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 4,854
the only way is to do what is said in Post #2
DSgamby is online now  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-13, 12:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Steinbach, MB
Posts: 27
BTW, you can lock porn channels and/or disable the X-rated titles though the menu setup as well.
Dubbya is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-14, 01:27 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
I was back in Saskatchewan for xmas/new years and other than freezing my ass off, I was happy to find you could turn off/on the listing the channels that you have under your subscription and I REALLY wished that was a feature Shaw had...
gribbler is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-14, 01:54 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,318
MTS TV also has that same feature. It's one of the few things I miss about MTS now that i'm back with Shaw.
vjose78 is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-18, 01:13 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 104
That I have HD basic digital cable and I don't actually get more than half of the channels in the guide makes channel browsing impossible. So in many ways, the more channels that appear in the guide, the less I find to watch.

I know I can use the favorites to create a list of channels that I actually have, but to go through each channel checking is just too much work. I think Shaw should create the favorites list for each customer based on a customers subscription. Either that, or have an "auto set-up" feature in the PVR that would automatically go through each channel for you and add it to a fav list if it is part of your subscription.

Shaw doesn't seem to get this.

As for Adult titles, you can simply block them in the settings. You can also set locks, but I found that after doing that, the Pace PVR would randomly throw the "enter lock" screen up, even when you weren't trying to access adult titles.
Roastbeef is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-19, 09:48 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 687
Bell, Dish and others have the option in their guides to:

Display all channels
Display subscribed channels only
Display HD channels only

These are system generated and you do nothing to create them.

The stupidity of having to go to several DCTs and manually create a list of "favourites" is beyond my thought process capability!!!

Shaw needs to fix this as we know it is possible to do it.
visiter555 is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-21, 05:51 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,318
Angry

I emailed Shaw about this and they said to use the Favorites option.
vjose78 is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-23, 12:28 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 54
Shaw just doesn't get it.
Veinless is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 2010-01-26, 07:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,814
I'm sure they get it just as I'm sure it is outside of their control.
Nanuuk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome