Sony Blu-Ray Code for Shaw universal remote - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-08, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: vancouver
Posts: 5
Sony Blu-Ray Code for Shaw universal remote

would like to program the dvd button on my shaw universal remote to control a sony blu ray player. none of the codes listed under dvd's:sony work nor does the scanning technique. pls help...
chuck84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-09, 08:47 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 74
Learning Remote

Do you have the original remote? If no one else knows the code you require, you can use the learning feature on the Shaw remote to train Shaw remote with the various functions of the Sony remote. It seems like a bit of a pain to train all of the functions, but I've done it multiple times for various peripherals of mine (TV, HTPC) and it takes less than 10 minutes to do each new device.

DCTs: 3080, 6208, 6416, DCX3400; HDTVs: Optoma HD20, LG 47LE5300, Viewsonic 3752; AVRs: Denon 2307, Yamaha YSP2200
I Wanna Flat Panel is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-09, 08:54 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 74
Try this...

Try 1516. Not knowing the model of Blu-Ray player, I am only guessing.

DCTs: 3080, 6208, 6416, DCX3400; HDTVs: Optoma HD20, LG 47LE5300, Viewsonic 3752; AVRs: Denon 2307, Yamaha YSP2200
I Wanna Flat Panel is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-10, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: vancouver
Posts: 5
sony blu ray model: bdp s350
code 1516 doesn't work
does training the shaw remote with the sony remote require training each function seperately? thanks for help. shaw had no clue as to what code to use...
chuck84 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-10, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Here are all the codes for sony dvd players. Hope thew will help you out
0533, 1533, 0864, 1033.1431, 1432, 1433, 1548,1892
Jason4653 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-10, 02:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 126
tkyoshi is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 2009-04-10, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: vancouver
Posts: 5
thanks jason. you listed a few codes not in my booklet. however none worked.
yoshi. that website search tool yielded no match and recommended 0533.
the 9-9-1 scan also nothing.
looks like the learning remote solution for me...
chuck84 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-16, 06:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Same boat

I am in the same boat as you chuck84. I went as far as returning my Sony and getting a toshiba DVD/Blu Ray combo but had no luck with it either. Anyone (iwannaflatpanel) able to talk me through the learn remote function. I'll google first to see if it's there. Thanks in advance.
leafan69 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-16, 07:47 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 69
sony remote question

had the same question with Shaw Universal Remote, and controlling a sony combo vcr/dvd player. Unfortunately, my mom lost the original remote, so learning remote unavailable. Apparently, though, Sony stuff only works with Sony Remotes (this came from Sony). No use of a Universal Remote is allowed
as far as I know.sorry. I hope someone can prove me wrong

John B
johnb1 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-16, 07:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,592
Not entirely true. Sony TVs work just fine with Shaw remotes but not Blu-Ray. Best bet is to get a Logitech Harmony or other universal remote that does support more than just the TVs.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 09:01 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 249
+1 for the Harmony. Makes life simpler.

Sony KDL-55HX750, (Shaw Gateway,4 portals) , Sony STR-DN1000, Sony BDP-S590, Logitech Harmony 650
Berty is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 01:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,407
From my experience, the Sony Blu-ray players and theSony DVD players use different sets of codes so that trying DVD player code sets would not help.

I have two Sony DVD jukeboxes and one Blu-ray jukebox. In setting up my Harmony One I found that the Sony DVD and Blu-ray codes were different. When I got my Sony Blu-ray jukebox I was thinking I would have to use the third DVD code set to not overlap my two Sony DVD juxeboxes but found that they were different codes sets. I now use DVD code sets 1 and 2 for the DVD jukeboxes and Blu-ray code set 1 for the Sony Jukebox.

As the Blu-ray is newer equipment, older remotes would not have support for the Blu-ray code sets but I don't know when or what remotes would be missing the Blu-ray ones.

Gateway and 3 Portals, Samsung FP-T6374 TV, Panasonic DMR-E80, Denon AVR-3808, Sony CX777ES
Alan Bealby is online now  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 04:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
So can anyone enlighten me on the Toshiba blu ray? Shaw support is really a misnomer. I can use my second Shaw remote on my Toshiba DVD in the basement but not for my new DVD/Blu-Ray combo.
leafan69 is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-02-25, 12:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Talking Problem solved

After having no luck whatsoever I walk into Costco yesterday and in the clearance section is a Panasonic DVD/Blu Ray combo on sale. I figured what the heck I'll try one more time and voila-it works with the first code I inputted. So the Toshiba goes back and I saved my self $25 and only need one remote for all my components again. A roundabout fix I know but a fix all the same. Good luck to the rest of you.
leafan69 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome