Activation required for used Shaw digital box? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Activation required for used Shaw digital box?

Hi,

I've searched for the answer to this, so apologies if this has been answered somewhere else. If I buy a Shaw digital box (HD or not) used, but "activated", do I need to do anything to get it working when I get back to my place except plug it in? i.e. does it need a service call into Shaw to re-activate it, or once it is active in the database, it will remain active anywhere on their cable network?

Thx.
lurpersei8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 05:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 507
You need the box's serial number linked to your account. It will likely work for a short time but eventually will stop. The used box I purchased even had the seller's channel map from a different city and worked for over a week until I phoned Shaw to have the box put on my account.
adiabatic is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 05:34 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,322
The following guidelines for Rogers Ontario may be handy as a checklist. For example, check with the service provider, make sure the seller is in "good standing", etc.

Guidelines for Selling (and Buying) a used Rogers Terminal in Ontario

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-27, 02:30 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shaw employee. My thoughts are my own and not my employers.
Posts: 192
It will remain active when you plug it in for a while, depends if it is still on the sellers account or not and how long ago they last had it plugged into cable.

The box downloads keys to decrypt channels that you subscribe to, these keys expire. Also, every morning the box "talks back" to Shaw, to say it's still hooked up and to get an update on it's subscription. If your box talks back, and Shaw sees it is unrecognized, it will automatically be disconnected. If your box doesn't talk back, it is still limited by the keys stored in it and the dates those keys are cycled at Shaw.
trainwalker is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-27, 09:15 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
And remember it must have been a SHAW DCT and not 1 from a different company or they will not allow it on their system
Jason4653 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-27, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shaw employee. My thoughts are my own and not my employers.
Posts: 192
Very good point Jason. That rule came out about a year or so ago, so not many people are aware of it. You can still however, take your Shaw box to NWtel or Novus as far as I am aware. Just not bring it onto Shaw.
trainwalker is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-29, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Port Moody, BC My Toys: 42" LG LCD -6412 PIII, Sony BD-300, HTPC & WHS, 27" LG -6412 PI
Posts: 40
This actually brought to mind a another question. A couple of years ago I activated a box I bought on Ebay.

If I were to sell it would the next person be able to activate it? It is already in the shaw system.

I'm not really planning on selling it but the new condo we're moving too we get a free year of Telus TV.

Life is what happens while you are making other plans.
Hot Potato is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-01-29, 03:23 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
hugh is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome