Starchoice / Hauppauge / recording HD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-01, 02:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 635
Starchoice / Hauppauge / recording HD

I have a Starchoice DSR505, and have been using SageTV as a HTPC.

Is there any way to record the DSR505's HD channels using any of the Hauppauge cards (1600/1800) without any hardware modifications?

The only way I can think of doing it is with component cables, but then that's not pure HD, and I'm not even sure if the Hauppauge cards use component cables.

thanks
tvmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-01, 02:41 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,407
Moved to the HTPC section of the forum. See the following link on recording HD, which also contains a link to the Hauppauge...

FAQ - Recording HD Recording HD

Search tips, etc in the link below:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum Useful post for those new to the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-06, 03:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 320
Use the Hauppauge HD PVR. Connects to your PC via USB and records any component video source up to 1080i.

C.
Civuck is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-07, 01:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
The only way I can think of doing it is with component cables, but then that's not pure HD, and I'm not even sure if the Hauppauge cards use component cables.
The HD-PVR has component inputs and this is "pure" HD - there is no reason why component is not as good as HDMI or DVI. The highest res for HDTV signals is 1080i which comes over component.

The benefit for you is that this device works very well with SageTV but you need a reasonalby fast CPU to play back the H.264 files that it produces.
Wayne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome