Experiences With the Hauppauge HD PVR - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-14, 01:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,041
Managed to get a little research in tonight.

Apparently many of these units have some kind of hardware/thermal issue I know some people are anxious to get this PVR BUT I HIGHLY recommend holding off right now.

I'm going to have to get in contact with support about my unit as I suspect that my unit is one of the "problem" unit.
bigoranget is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-16, 08:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 66
I may have to send mine back as well, but what has worked for me so far is putting the unit on it's side and it helps to keep it cooler. Since then I havent had any real issues with it.

Unfortunatly I havent had a chance to really work on it this weekend, and this week I'm going to be away from the house most of the time. But as soon as I can get back at it I will and keep everyone updated.

Dave.
canadaneedsmusi is offline  
post #18 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-16, 01:22 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
The Hauppauge HD PVR may be available in Canada soon. I've seen advance orders on one site. Hopefully, the bugs will be worked out by then. At any rate, it will likely be cheaper to ship and get warranty service if purchased in Canada. It should be worth the wait.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
 
post #19 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-16, 08:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,041
Quote:
I may have to send mine back as well, but what has worked for me so far is putting the unit on it's side and it helps to keep it cooler. Since then I havent had any real issues with it.
I have tried placing it on it's side. I can get video longer but it still cuts out after awhile. The biggest design flaw with this unit is there is absolutely no ventilation at all.
bigoranget is offline  
post #20 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-16, 11:28 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Arrow

If that it the only problem, I would be tempted to mod the case and/or provide extra ventilation with a low speed fan. OTOH, that could void the warranty.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #21 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-17, 12:23 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Regina
Posts: 99
I got mine on Sat but due to family commitments, I haven't pulled anything from the box other than the instructions and now I'm out of town for 2 days so won't be able to try anything until Thurs night.
Has anyone contacted them about the heat problem? What are they saying? I was on their site the other day and looked for HD PVR under Support but didn't see it .. but I see it's there today. But it doesn't say anything in the FAQ about heat issues. I noticed that there's a new driver level. Has anyone tried installing this yet?
...Ian

Pany 50" X77 plas; 60" DLP; S97 DVD; Yam 6090 AVR; Avel Linkplayer; Sony HC3 HD ccorder; Haup HD PVR; PCH A100
IanR is offline  
post #22 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-17, 12:32 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Regina
Posts: 99
Sorry .. I think I just answered my own question about the new driver. I was thinking it was new code for the box itself .. but now I'm sure it's just new Windows driver code.

Pany 50" X77 plas; 60" DLP; S97 DVD; Yam 6090 AVR; Avel Linkplayer; Sony HC3 HD ccorder; Haup HD PVR; PCH A100
IanR is offline  
post #23 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-19, 12:26 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa Panny 60ZT60, Epson 8700, SVS/B&W
Posts: 42
I've recorded a few more complete shows and haven't had any freezeups or overheating. My box seems stable and the flickering I had before seems gone too.
warpdrive is offline  
post #24 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-20, 11:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
What's you setup Warpdrive?
youg is offline  
post #25 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-22, 11:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Want_My_HDTV View Post
The Hauppauge HD PVR may be available in Canada soon. I've seen advance orders on one site.
Can you elaborate on which shop will have it?
Wayne is offline  
post #26 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-24, 03:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oliphant, ON
Posts: 1
I have an AMD X2 4600+ on an Asus M2A-VM HDMI onboard graphics/2Gb/500Gb SATA300 - starchoice 505 - Hauppauge HD PVR - Beyond TV 4.8.2 - JVC 42X788

Removed previous Hauppage 150 card and removed all hauppauge software. Used supplied cable 505 to HDPVR. Connected to USB on PC. Installed latest driver from Hauppauge website. BeyondTV wizard found unit and set it up (with one error which can be ignored)

Picture not discernibly different from the direct 505/HDMI/TV settings. Beyond TV cannot setup the HDPVR (bitrate etc) as it is not currently supported. Tuning between channels with BeyondTV Live TV veerrrrry slow (20-30 secs). Recording at default is about 2.3GB/hr.
rcomputer is offline  
post #27 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-24, 09:25 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 54,873
Quote:
Recording at default is about 2.3GB/hr.
Awful low - only about 5 Mbps - less than 1/3 of typical HD channel of 15-18 Mbps.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #28 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-24, 11:28 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Cool

Quote:
Can you elaborate on which shop will have it?
I'd like to but it violates forum rules.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #29 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-06-25, 11:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,041
Quote:
Awful low - only about 5 Mbps
Keep in mind we are not comparing apples to apples. Wouldn't a video encoded with H.264 have a significantly lower bit-rate then that of an MPEG-2 video? I do agree that 5 is a bit low but I wouldn't think a 7-8 MB/sec H.264 video would be out of line.
bigoranget is offline  
post #30 of 352 (permalink) Old 2008-07-13, 02:08 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Thumbs up

I just got a notice that the Hauppauge HD PVR is in stock in Canada at NCIX.com.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome