Nero tells Digital Home TIVO on your PC within 12 months - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-03, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Nero tells Digital Home TIVO on your PC within 12 months

For those of you who missed it, last November Nero, developers of multimedia digital media software, and TiVo announced they had entered into an agreement to integrate TiVo's television user experience with Nero's next generation of PC software.

The goal would be software that could turn your PC into a TIVO digital video recorder. Plug a coaxial cable into your computer, output the signal to a television and your PC would do double duty as a TIVO unit.

When the announcement was made last year, no time frame was given as to when consumers might expect the new software, however, today I spoke to Richard Carriere President and General Manager of Nero who told me that consumers could expect the TIVO software to be available in the next 12 months.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-03, 06:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria, BC (on Shaw TV & Internet, Telus home phone, Bell mobile)
Posts: 1,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
Plug a coaxial cable into your computer, output the signal to a television and your PC would do double duty as a TIVO unit.
...consumers could expect the TIVO software to be available in the next 12 months.
I'd love to have TIVO software features, but I already do about 80% of my recording in HD. I can't see using this to record analog cable.

To make products like this viable in future, there HAS to be some kind of cable-card (or that new one) for PCs. As usual, DRM is ensuring we are all securely locked into products from the biggest richest companies.

Mike / technut
technut is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 12:06 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 459
I agree. In this day and age where almost every primetime show is in HD. Not to have that functionality would be a waste. Maybe they add the ability to add OTA HD, but even that isn't much an option for most people.
toybox is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 12:12 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,665
On this TiVo and Nero are well behind the curve. This type of user experience already exists in mature products from Snapstream and Sage ... not to mention ReplayTV.
JohnnyCanuck is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 10:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
Agreed - this should be able to work with devices like a capture card with component inputs or the Tru2way card. Otherwise it is 5 years too late. What functionality would this have that you don't already get from Windows Media Center, Sage, Myth, GB-PVR or BeyondTV?
Wayne is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-05, 08:06 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 1,678
I just decommisioned the PC set up for recording TV shows. Replaced with a Rogers 8300HD PVR.

If anyone can provide HD recording on a PC as easily as it is done with the PVR, I will switch back - but the Nero/Tivo announcement does not even come close.

If it comes free with Nero, I will get it, but otherwise.......
rfielder is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-05, 11:47 AM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
I assume this will replace or enhance the Nero Home product that is bundled with Nero. I really cannot see TiVo or Nero giving this away. Maybe a lite version with Nero and an separate full version are planned.

I agree with some of the other sentiments expressed. Unless it is an exceptional product, it will be a "me too" product that misses the market window. TiVo is getting desperate because they are being pushed out of the market by proprietary products and the lack of a method to record HD in many market segments. I wish them luck.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-06-06, 09:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,315
I see it as a separate prodict from the CD/DVD authoring/burning suite, but could have DVD burning built in.
classicsat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome