Problems with 720p files - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-08, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: kitchener ont
Posts: 43
Problems with 720p files

I have 2 computers.
#1 AMD athlon xp 2100 running at 1.7ghz, 1g ram and ati 9600 attached via dvi to 19" syncmaster. No problems playing 720p files or .mkv files. (xp sp2) using zoom player or MP11.

#2 AMD Semperon 3000 running at 2 ghz, 2 g ram and ATI 9600 attached via vga to 37" LG lcd. Running vista ultimate(All eyecandy shut off) Using the same software as above the video studders and audio/video sync is WAY off.

Both machines have different sound cards, just wondering why, what I think is the slower machine able to play the files?
I know its time to upgrade #2 just not FEESable at this time

All suggestions welcome, thanks.
samc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-08, 07:25 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,051
mkv's most of the time are x264 encodes (H.264/AVC).
What codec do you use on each PC to decode? Any codec packs installed?
granduncle is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-08, 07:28 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
VistaCodecs

Try installing the VistaCodecs package. I was using CCCP but ran into issues with certain MKV files.
Lazaruscomeout is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-08, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,051
If you want to keep the DirectShow sytem under control, never ever install codec packs.
BTW, some codecs in CCCP are hacks.
granduncle is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-08, 07:51 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
My Mistake

samc, it was the coreavc1650 that fixed my problems. The VistaCodec pack didn't help at all.

granduncle, I still have CCCP installed and I never have problems with any video files. What sort of issues regarding DirectShow should I watch out for?
Lazaruscomeout is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-09, 06:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: kitchener ont
Posts: 43
I've got lots of codecs installed on both. Core, CCCp, K-lite pack.
This maybe the problem, just 2 many. No Vista Codec pack.
Maybe I will just uninstall all codecs, clean reg and try again.
Is there one codec(package)that is recommended? Wondering if I should go back to xp on #2?
samc is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-09, 10:20 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,051
I share the point of view expressed in this blog
http://msmvps.com/blogs/chrisl/archi...1/1046591.aspx
Yes, I know, it is written by a Microsoft employee...

WinXP, out of the box, has NO codecs but for Windows Media.
Vista is the first OS from MS that comes with decoders: MPEG-2 (very crappy at handling interlaced) and AC3 (so-so).

I use TheaterTek for DVD playback (comes with NVidia codecs), CoreAVC+Haali for mkv and all H.264 video, and VLC for the rest.
Have ffdshow installed to use when in tinkering mood.

Playing back HD/BD rips is a different ballgame alltogether...
granduncle is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-09, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
stuters on display

I had the same thing happen a quick and dirty sollution for me was to find a hertz and dispaly setting that got rid of that.
danbcman is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-09, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: kitchener ont
Posts: 43
Well CPU is maxxed out 100pc went playing the file, odd that #1 can play the file(: Might switch back to xp.
samc is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-05-09, 06:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,051
Download graphedit.
Open the media file in it.
You will see the graph DirectShow players will use to play the file. Any DS player.
VLC is one player that won't use it - it has its own codecs, doesn't use any other.

What codecs are used on each system?
granduncle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome