Digital/HD cable on a vista media center pc? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 12:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Digital/HD cable on a vista media center pc?

What do I need in order to be able to watch/record/browse HD digital content on my pc? I'm looking for an alternative to the super expensive hd decoders my cable provider (VDN) is offering, and figured I might as well put my $4000 pc to work.

I was looking at this card and was wondering if that's all I need to decode the digital cable and of those, the ones that are in HD. I see alot of free-to-air stuff, but thats not what interests me most right now. I want to be able to plug my wall cable into my box and watch/record the digital content especially in HD.

Can anybody recommend this card, or another for that matter? If I get two can I simultaneously record and watch?

Thanks!

Running it on a Samsung 61" 1080p LED DLP (HLT6187)
tg989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 09:40 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,327
You can, if the HD channels of interest are unencrypted. If they are, you are SOL in Canada, as the olny other solution requires cablecards and a cablecard TV tuner, which cablecards aren't available in Canada.
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 10:23 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 701
That particular card will do over the air HDTV, but not cable. In Canada, due to regulatory differences versus the US, you're not going to be able to fully replace the functionality of the digital cable PVR. They lock up those HDTV digital channels pretty tight on this side of the border. There are hacks, but they'd be unreliable and not get you nearly the content you're looking for.

Where do you live? OTA HDTV (ie plug an antenna into the PC) is free and excellent quality, but availibility of signals varies by location quite a bit.

Pete
pnear is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 12:58 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 273
I am using a "hack" with my Vista Media Center and my cable stb.

I can record HD and playback on my Media Center pc and stream to my 360.

The software isn't 100% reliable but its still way better than what the cable co's offer.

The downside is that I cannot watch live HDTV thru Media Center or record specialy channels but I don't do either anyways.

We will be waiting a long time before cable-card ever comes here and when/if it does, everything will be IPTV.
KingBuzzo is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 701
Agreed on never seeing cablecard here. Although I'd expect Winnipeg to be getting more OTA HDTV in the coming years now that Canada has an analog cutoff date too.
pnear is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Well thats bad news!

I was really hoping on plugging my digital cable (which has a 10 channel HD package) into my pc and having access to digital channels via my media center along with all the 'record and watch later' stuff that goes with it, and if it could do HD then that would be wondreful. The prospect of spending 600$ on a decent hd cable box makes me ill and I was hoping there was some way around it!

Any questions I should ask my cable company to see if it would be compatible? I'm in Montreal downtown on the 30th floor of my building, so I may be able to get some OTA where I am, but not much.

Here is the package I am considering:
http://web.vdn.ca/freepage.php?page=76.81

Update: I just called them and they said the digital stream is encoded/encrypted.

Last edited by tg989; 2007-05-28 at 02:09 PM.
tg989 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 03:36 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,484
Most major cable companies encrypt most of their digital channels (including HD). I'm not sure whether VDN does or not. You'd have to have a QAM-equipped TV to check. Also, they could encrypt at any time and then you'd be out of luck.

See: Can I get digital cable?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-28, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Well I don't see too many people with VDN, so i'll plug my analogue cable into my set and see what pops up, i'll post back on saturday when everything is up and running.

Anybody know of a good indoor antennae for OTA in montreal? (and if its even worth it for channels).
tg989 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-05-29, 09:59 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 701
There's a whole thread here for Montreal OTA:
QC - City of Montréal - OTA (CLOSED - Please see FINAL POST)

That should help.

Pete
pnear is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome