How to get my tv remote to work with my android box? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2018-04-22, 02:35 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
How to get my tv remote to work with my android box?

Hey everyone,

So I recently bought a GooBangDoo android box. I am using it to connect to my ip tv subscription.

The one day I noticed my Sony smart tv remote was working to control the android box. Awesome! The remote that came with the abox was cheap with a poor range anyway.

The next time I went to use my tv remote again, it wouldn't work. I have no idea how it worked initially, I didn't set it up or anything.

I was wondering if anyone knew how I could connect my tv remote to my Abox again, or possibly a better 3rd party option. I hate the remote and mini keyboard that came with it. They don't work well.

Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
williamamorrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2018-04-22, 03:05 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,451
If connected via HDMI, you may have had communication via HDMI-CEC. See the following FAQ, point 4.

FAQ - HDMI Comments/Issues

If all the devices use IR, then one of the programmable Harmony remotes would probably be your best option. The less expensive ones often go on sale for around $50.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2018-04-22, 11:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 6,595
I agree that it probably was CEC. My experience with CEC is that it provides limited functionality at best. Things like power and volume are usually addressed but not a lot more.

I also recommend using a Harmony remote for general use. The 650 is a good bet. The best online price right now is about $60. It should have most of the codes in the Harmony database but can be taught new codes if not.

Most Android boxes work with standard PC keyboards and mice. The USB mini-keyboards with touchpads also work with Android boxes. I've used a cheap MCE remote as well. A wireless gyroscopic remote may be preferable but it won't be Harmony compatible.

Quote:
GooBangDoo android box
Sounds like something an unsuspecting customer could catch at a brothel.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome