Roku VS Apple TV4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-04, 02:19 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Roku VS Apple TV4

Hey everybody,

I currently have an ATV4 and a Roku box at home and was wondering which box do you prefer and why?

So far I prefer the interface of the ATV4 and the apps seem to be much more polished. But everything is expensive on the ATV.

I prefer the the remote and the responsiveness of the interface but at the same time the interface is dated and clunky. Also there seems to be a lack of quality apps on the Roku in Canada although it does have Spotify and Amazon Prime.

Do the new Rokus have a better interface?

Mr.6
Mr.6 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-07, 01:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,396
* Interface is the same on new Rokus.
* Models with non-IR (wifi) remotes are the killer feature.
* Sticks for travelling and fairly reliable captive portal redirects is a huge plus.
* I don't think that the Roku's officially have Amazon Prime Streaming in Canada yet.
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-07, 02:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,730
For me in Canada Apple TV is better than Roku as it supports Crave tv, Bell Fibe TV and Amazon Prime via air play and I subscribe to all of these services. Amazon Prime is not available on Roku in Canada.
bev fan is online now  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-08, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,435
If it was between a ATV3 and a Roku.. i would say the Roku.

But with the ATV4s OS change and all the OTHER apps it can get now.. it has much more capability / chance with other apps.

GDKitty
Rogers 9865, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Onkyo HT-R690.
gdkitty is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-09, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Does anybody use the CinemaNow app for the Roku? Is it any good?

According to a few sites, Amazon Prime video is coming to AppleTV this summer. In the U.S.

Mr.6
Mr.6 is online now  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-19, 01:34 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 153
I think I had it working once but I don't use it anymore so I'm not sure, but if you want to use your Canadian Card and watch US Amazon Prime on Roku just use your real Canadian address on Amazon (US site) and go get a Turbo Beacon. I have a third party re-shipper for the items I buy on there that resends it to Canada that Amazon sends to a US address. I got all of the US apps on my Roku.

Last edited by wmjfoley85; 2017-05-19 at 01:50 AM.
wmjfoley85 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-19, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Yeah I wanted to try it. Maybe this weekend.

But the app will show up soon on the apple tv.

Mr.6
Mr.6 is online now  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-22, 10:30 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 46
AppleTV has very much proprietary control on which apps become available on their device... while ROKU is more open to many PUBLIC apps made available plus there are many PRIVATE apps (Roku calls their apps -> channels). One app that I enjoy watching is EUROROKU, https://euroroku.com/ I'm subscribed for 5 months now with the PROMO HD package + timeshift at $15US. The timeshifts made available for Europe's prime time that are rebroadcast: UTC-5 (eastern time) and UTC-8 (pacific time)... many channels that are not available in Canada. No cloud DVR. Many live channels load in 1-2 seconds, while on-demand channels load in 10-20 seconds. I'm paying my subscription through PayPal. I'm satisfied with over 50 French channels made available (e.g. France 2,3,4,5, TF1, BFM, LCI, 6M), can't speak about the amount, timeshift and quality of the other European languages made available through this app. Never considered trying the free 7 day starter package because it didn't indicate if it was in HD. Currently they are revamping the Belgian, Dutch and Italian channels so they aren't available right now, any questions they have support at support@euroroku.com. Cheers.

Last edited by control; 2017-05-22 at 11:06 AM.
control is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-22, 12:39 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 100
I like Apple TV, but there's one major important thing about Apple TV that I don't like about. It's too expensive.
Jishan is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-05-23, 11:32 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 153
To be honest I use both but like I've always used my Apple TV 4 for Canadian apps, my Roku Premiere for American apps, and my older Roku 3 for Canadian apps as well. I know I have quite the amount of streamers. I'm waiting for DTVNow to come to my Roku Premiere. I love them all in their own way.
wmjfoley85 is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-09-11, 05:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 46
Bought an AppleTV two months ago in order to watch Bell FibeTV in my outside gazebo. Yesterday, the remote drop less then 2 feet from the coffee table and the finish cover cracked... I believe we all drop our various remotes from time to time and they are built to handle some amount of day to day usage including some reasonable accidental drops... So, did Apple conduct vigorous testing for low drops... Probably NOT, anyhow called the support line this morning and explained what had happen, they said they don't cover this... She said it would cost me $99 dollars plus shipping to replace it. Told her to forget it since it still works but left her with my thoughts about Apple and its fragile remote. So buyer beware, Apple TV sucks for putting out such a crappy remote!!!
I would attach an image of the crack remote but I'm not sure how to...
control is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-09-11, 05:48 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by control View Post
I would attach an image of the crack remote but I'm not sure how to...
See the following link:

How to create a photo album for use on the Digital Forum

Just as an FYI, the Apple remotes are IR and you could purchase a Harmony or similar programmable remote to control all your devices with one remote. The Harmony 650 often goes on sale for as little as $50.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-09-11, 09:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 46
@ 57
Thanks for the link on how to add images...

Anyhow, here is a snapshot of the broken AppleTV remote:
control is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 2017-09-12, 01:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,623
A genuine replacement AppleTV remote is US$50 on eBAY. I wouldn't expect any less (in price) from Apple. A generic replacement that is less glossy but probably more resilient is available for as little as US$2.29. At that price, buy two in case one gets dropped in the pool.

Silicone protective covers for the original remote are also available for as little as US$1. Get one for your genuine Apple remote.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old Today, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 44
This looks like the Apple TV (4th gen) Siri remote, which is small, but packs in a dual microphone, Bluetooth, IR transmitter, accelerometer, touch pad control, and rechargeable li-ion battery with lightning connector. It's not cheap. The Apple Canada website is selling it for $79, with free shipping. Apple's pricing seems in-line when you take the hardware features into account.

I have no idea how a generic replacement could match these features for $2.29. You could look on ebay and kijiji for a used remote and save a few bucks.

There is also a Apple TV remote app for iPhone and iPAD, though I have not personally tried using it.
grungymegajeff is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome