Roku Premiere Plus - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-25, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 137
Roku Premiere Plus

Hi all, I currently have a Roku 3, but this weekend I ordered a Roku Premiere Plus from The Source website. It's suppose to have ac wireless capibilities which is the reason I ordered it. To my knowledge it's not even sold in store yet. Anyone try out the new Roku boxes yet? How different is it really besides wifi ac capabilities from the Roku 3?
wmjfoley85 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-25, 07:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 5,231
Compared to previous models, the Roku Premiere and Roku Premiere+ add 4k TV capability. Compared to the Roku Premiere, the Roku Premiere+ adds HDR TV, an ethernet port and an RF remote with headphone jack.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-25, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 137
Ok thank you !
wmjfoley85 is online now  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-28, 04:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
I'm looking at buying the Canadian version. Does anyone know if it's possible to access Hulu+, HBO Go, and Pandora if you use a VPN or SmartDNS service with this?
WeirdG is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-28, 09:59 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 11,209
It's doubtful that you will be able to get HBO outside the U.S. since they cracked down on VPNs over a year ago - see post 31 in this thread. I assume you mean HBO NOW, which is the standalone HBO subscription service. HBO GO is the service you use for online access if you pay for HBO through your U.S. cable TV subscription.

HBO NOW - Stand-Alone Streaming Service (U.S. only)
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-28, 10:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Nope, I mean HBO Go. I actually have it working on my Samsung SmartTV, but I have my router setup using a SmartDNS service. Hulu+, HBO Go, and Pandora work without any issues. Netflix US also sometimes works. It might be up for a week or two and down for a few, since Netflix is still cracking down on VPN/SmartDNS users.
WeirdG is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-28, 10:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
BTW, I have a hookup for HBO Go, who subscribes to it with DirecTV.
WeirdG is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-28, 11:45 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 11,209
Good to know you got HBO working - I don't have any specific info on Roku.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2016-10-29, 02:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 137
I got a box called a Turbo Beacon that I connected to my router.....It allows me to access my Hulu+ account, and get US Netflix just fine on my Roku ! The device provides a US Wifi Network called TurboBeacon and I pay $10.50 per month.

www.turbobeacon.com
wmjfoley85 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome