android media player box - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-17, 11:09 PM Thread Starter

android media player box

So, I'm thinking of getting one of these Android, media player boxes, supposedly has all sorts of apps, and access to quite a few channels. It runs XMBC I believe... anyways, I have very little experience with streaming, just wondering if anybody would have a ballpark idea of how much data would be used if someone was to watch approximately 35-40 hours of week of 1080p content? Trying to make sure that I wouldn't go over my internet cap on Shaw...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-18, 12:30 AM
Veteran

Using Netflix as an example, at "normal" HD, which is ~2.3GB/hr, you're looking at between 322-368 GB for a 4-week month if your use is between 35-40 hours per week.
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-18, 11:54 PM
Veteran

I mostly watch streamed content in HD (720 & 1080), approx 30-40 hrs per week, and along with all my usual internet traffic my average data usage is around 250-260gb per month

post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 2014-06-19, 12:27 AM

I have 4 different android TV boxes, not one works perfectly.
I love them and they all do what I want, most of the time,

Haven't got pass through audio to work on the rockchip boxes, but I haven't tried in a bit, use my current rockchip quad core box for old school video games.
Amlogic boxes I have the most luck with, but they often have audio sync issues,
Can be fixed with a few internet searches, but I wasn't impressed when out of the box I couldn't stream video from my computer with pass through audio in sync.
I've also run into stuttering video.
The dual core boxes tend to have the most stable firmware. The quad core boxes handle 1080p and the heavier xbmc skins better, but I've had to do several firmware updates, and am now playing with custom firmware.